We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough ”

Fort Worth Aviation Museum
Ranked #31 of 124 things to do in Fort Worth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: You can touch more airplanes here than any other museum in Fort Worth. Aviation museum telling the history of aviation in North Texas. We have 26 military aircraft on display from a 1943 BT-13 trainer to a Blue Angle F/A-18 Hornet. Adults like the history and kids like the airplanes ans simulator. We are a Blue Star museum, so active military and families are welcome free of charge. Open Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday. $5.00 admission for adults, $1 for children 6 to 16.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

What a great place. They have a lot of cool stuff inside of the museum as well as cool planes. Our tour guide Ken told us that Fort Worth has been a major hub for aviation since 1908. A must see

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank penahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"vietnam era"
in 3 reviews
"guided tour"
in 4 reviews
"petting zoo"
in 5 reviews
"blue angel"
in 2 reviews
"united states"
in 2 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"whole family"
in 2 reviews
"simulator"
in 4 reviews
"helicopter"
in 4 reviews
"knowledge"
in 4 reviews
"reconnaissance"
in 2 reviews
"docent"
in 3 reviews
"cockpit"
in 2 reviews
"history"
in 12 reviews
"military"
in 3 reviews
"enthusiasts"
in 2 reviews
"exhibits"
in 7 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

This is an excellent choice for anyone even moderately interested in the history of air support for the United States military. A guided tour will take two hours or less and will include interior and outside exhibits of retired fighting planes and helicopters, many of them with notable histories. Our guide offered expert knowledge as a retired Two Star Admiral and carrier commander! My family and I though it was an excellent visit. What a great value!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Oldguy1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Trying to find interesting things to do around Fort Worth can get a little tricky once you have lived here for a while. A friend from work told me about the Fort Worth Aviation Museum and I was excited to see what it was all about. When we got there, we were greated by the treasurer who was really nice and introduced us to John who would be our docent (tour guide) for our time there. He had so much knowledge and was able to answer all of our questions and keep it very interesting. Having him around was even better when he let us climb the stairs of the Blue Angel and take pictures inside the cockpit of a Vietnam Era helicopter!!! There was a simulator inside but we were so preoccupied with the planes outside that we forgot to go in it. This was a great date trip for my boyfriend and I and I saw a ton of kids playing outside there too. I heard there is a bar crawl in April where some brewer's are station INSIDE OF THE PLANES!!! I can't wait to go. 5 stars and definitely coming back!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Daniella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2017

The Fort Worth Aviation Museum is a great place to visit to learn more about the history of flying. They have a great "petting zoo" full of planes, jets, and a helicopter that you can walk through and actually hands on touch the planes. Really a great place to visit and wonderful volunteers who can tell you more about each of the planes in the "petting zoo".

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank MainTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Being a Museum buff and with Family (wife and 2 kids) visiting, we decided to check this one out due to it having real Fighter jets along with a Vietnam Era Helicopter. The place was great and informal and we had a great time studying about these fighter jets and also measuring their Winspan and other things. Got to see these magnificent machines really upclose. The other good things were , zero Parking charges as well as only nominal Entry fee (only $10) for entire family. The gift shop , small , but largely inexpensive so bought a number of gifts.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank SharatS36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Fort Worth Aviation Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thanks for the kind words.

Jim Hodgson
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Worth Aviation Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fort Worth Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing