We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
25
11
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
25
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small kitchen great hotel hosts hallway texas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016

This is an awesome Historic Hotel, great room, but not really a B & B, breakfast was pop tarts, cereal and ego's, so if you are looking for a real B & B this is not one of them. The hotel is very historic and has a story to tell, so if that is what you are looking for this is the one for you.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank donnat973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastland Historic Hotel, Owner at The Eastland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2021

Thank you for the review! We agree with you that we are not a bed and breakfast, and we apologize for the confusion. We are a historic hotel. Unfortunately, many of the locals call us “the bed and breakfast.” That was the original plan when the building was restored 25 years ago, but it didn’t pan out. We do recommend several nearby places for a terrific home cooked breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We had a great stay in a historic hotel in the perfect location downtown. It was clean comfortable and quiet. The hospitality was superb with a small kitchen right outside our room. There were lots of little touches like books and games, little sitting areas and even a pool table. Next door to the majestic hotel and across the street from the jail museum.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank floydmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We spent Sat. night at this hotel after eating lunch at Mary's Café in Strawn. When I called for a reservation Anne told me she would put us in the Galveston room overlooking Lamar St. but when we got there she put us in the Cisco instead because someone was in the room next to the one we'd been told and she likes to spread out the guests so there isn't any noise issues. The room was beautifully decorated and nice and large. Unfortunately our bed was very firm, we'd rather have had a queen with a softer mattress. The gentleman in the other room said his bed was way too soft for him. So my advice is to ask for the type of mattress you need rather than room placement. Breakfast is do it yourself eggo's,,microwavable breakfast biscuits, and cereal, cream, milk and orange juice in the ice box. But she has real plates and silverware, nice glasses and cookies and sodas for snaking. There was plenty of hot water and the rooms were very clean.

Room tip: Make sure ask for a room with your preferred mattress type. Some are very firm and some are softer.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2015

last minute overnight trip to see relatives close by....had immediate and personal attention...a wonderful experience, as if we were visiting them....beautiful room, great decor,all our needs were met and expectations exceeded...will make plans to visit again very soon

Room tip: great value...will upgrade next time to add to experience
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2015

It is a 100 year old building, lovingly restored and updated, but with that 1920's feel. It does have squeaky stairs (and a few other eccentricities) but it is an older building full of charm. The owners are very welcoming without being intrusive. The pool was great in the heat of the summer. Nice walk around the downtown area, and the theater is next door.

Room tip: Rooms on the south side hove no windows, the theater is there, the east facing rooms have the best view.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews