We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcrowded ”

Dallas Holocaust Museum
Ranked #31 of 262 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Dallas Holocaust Museum/Center for Education and Tolerance offers a core exhibit that exposes three key events that occurred on "One Day During the Holocaust". A special travelling exhibit, video graphed eyewitness testimonies of survivors, and artifacts offer visitors a well-rounded understanding of this horrific part of world history. Visitors leave the Museum with answers to the question, how could this happen? Due to the somber topic and graphic historical photographs in the exhibits, the Museum is not recommended for children under the age of 10. However, parents should note that this Museum hosts more than 30,000 school children each year. The audio guided tour teaches the differences between bystander and Upstander behavior and the value of choices.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

As other reviews state, this is a very small museum but the curator does a great job of maximizing the space by choosing to focus on a single day during the holocaust. I’ve never seen this done before and it works well, however, the museum is getting a new, larger space next year so this may change.

My main issue with the museum is how crowded it gets with school groups. I was given an audio guide for my admission price but could barely hear the narration over the guides leading the children from spot to spot in the exhibit. I had to view the museum out of order and jump from display to display in between the school groups to avoid getting run over/crowded out. If the front desk had given me a heads up on the size versus volume of people visiting, I might have skipped this one altogether to avoid the battle for space. Not worth your money if there’s a school bus outside.

Thank pinkxskizzors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, Public Relations Manager at Dallas Holocaust Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. It pleases the entire Museum team when visitors come away with an understanding of the history of one of the world’s most horrific incidences of inhumanity. If you live in the Dallas area please do visit our event calendar for upcoming events and new exhibits. DallasHolocaustMuseum.org. Our Anne Frank exhibit opens in September 2018 and new Museum will open in fall of 2019.

Thank you for your review and informative comments about your experience at our Museum.
Come back and see us again when we have enough space for everybody.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"concentration camp"
in 7 reviews
"video interviews"
in 5 reviews
"train car"
in 4 reviews
"individual stories"
in 4 reviews
"human history"
in 4 reviews
"horrific event"
in 4 reviews
"small exhibit"
in 5 reviews
"subject matter"
in 9 reviews
"own pace"
in 20 reviews
"audio tour"
in 23 reviews
"eye opening"
in 5 reviews
"school groups"
in 6 reviews
"educational experience"
in 4 reviews
"self guided"
in 4 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 6 reviews
"across the street"
in 6 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Had a couple hours to spend before heading back to the airport, so we visited this museum. The displays were first rate, and the audio presentation leading you from one display to another was very user friendly. It did seem that some of the items could have been in better order for the audio portion of the tour and some items were not where they were described, only to see them in another spot. No harm, no foul. Very educational and respectful. Glad we visited.

1  Thank plz2meatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, Public Relations Manager at Dallas Holocaust Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. It pleases the entire Museum team when visitors come away with an understanding of the history of one of the world’s most horrific incidences of inhumanity. If you live in the Dallas area please do visit our event calendar for upcoming events and new exhibits. DallasHolocaustMuseum.org. Our Anne Frank exhibit opens in September 2018 and new Museum will open in fall of 2019.

Thank you for your review and informative comments about your experience at our Museum.
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
239
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

This IS a small location, but they are building a larger location opening next year. It is crowded, but it is worth the trip. I, personally, liked the handheld audio devices. This allows each person to focus on an area in depth or move past certain sections. I was interested in how they chose one day in history to show a glimpse into the Holocaust. I am glad they are expanding and will be coming back once they do.

My word of advice, know what maturity level your kids are before entering this place. There is sensitive subject matter and it is NOT a place to have your children climbing or running wild.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 February 2018

While it is a small museum, it packs a lot of information and artifacts in that space. Please note that there is a larger more permanent home for the museum being built at this time across the street.

Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, Public Relations Manager at Dallas Holocaust Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. It pleases the entire Museum team when visitors come away with an understanding of the history of one of the world’s most horrific incidences of inhumanity. If you live in the Dallas area please do visit our event calendar for upcoming events and new exhibits. DallasHolocaustMuseum.org. Our Anne Frank exhibit opens in September 2018 and new Museum will open in fall of 2019.

Thank you for your review and informative comments about your experience at our Museum.
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Very small museum but very real and shocking images. $10 entry fee. It comes with an audio phone guide which is very detailed and interesting. My favorite part was the end where you can sit and watch video interviews of survivors and their first hand accounts of what happened to them and their families as well as how it affects them to this day and some of the results. I sat for 45 minutes and there was still more. It really digs into the details of some of the horrors- it is very hard to watch but well worth it. Life has come forward to even have this museum in Dallas in what was once way back then a hotbed of KKK activity in the 30s +/-. The museum stands to show what happened and reminds us that this is still happening in various areas all throughout the world.

Museum located near West End area which is home to the tourist restaurants. Nearby parking is $10 in the lot - not much street parking nearby.

Thank 0beachbum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula N, Public Relations Manager at Dallas Holocaust Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. It pleases the entire Museum team when visitors come away with an understanding of the history of one of the world’s most horrific incidences of inhumanity. If you live in the Dallas area please do visit our event calendar for upcoming events and new exhibits. DallasHolocaustMuseum.org. Our Anne Frank exhibit opens in September 2018 and new Museum will open in fall of 2019.

Thank you for your review and informative comments about your experience at our Museum.
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas Holocaust Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing