We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great, service could've been better”

Paula Deen's Family Kitchen
Ranked #46 of 192 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$21
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We loved the food, but had some issues with our service. We waited an hour and 50 minutes to get our table which was fine because we went and explored the island. When we finally were seated we ordered an appetizer. Our server brought our drinks and then the food was already there. That was fine except we never got the appetizer. We said we didn't get the appetizer and he said, we'll do you really want it now? We ended up not getting it. We had to ask for our drinks to be filled. I've had better service at fast food joints and expected more. The food was delicious though! They bring out smaller portions and you can get refills of anything. We reordered the side dishes and it took a long time for them to bring it out. Thinking it would be a long time for our desserts we went ahead and put in our desserts. The server brought out our desserts before giving us those sides we ordered. Maybe it was just a bad night for Philip, but we expected better service for that price. The food was excellent which is why I gave it 3 stars instead of 2. The server was not rude at all, very nice, but didn't understand our needs. I would go back again.

Thank sonny1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry L, Manager at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 412 of 5,523 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

The Paula Deen Family Kitchen doesn't skimp on flavor, that's for sure! As starters, guests are served delicious garlic and cheese biscuits set atop scrumptious hoe cakes. At lunch, your table picks two meats and four sides, served family-style, with bottomless portions of your picks. The pot roast is unlike any other I've eaten. Simply divine. The catfish and pork chops are quite delicious as well. The only side choice I might not choose again would be the squash casserole; I prefer my squash to be cooked quite well. Overall, it's a great choice. Lunch fare is much cheaper than dinner. As an adult, expect to spend roughly $25 a person with drink and tip. Children 5 to 10 pay $10, and 4 and under are free.

1  Thank Kenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry L, Manager at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

So glad that you enjoyed everything and had a great dining experience. We always strive to deliver the best homestyle family dining in the Smokys. We hope to see Y'all back next time you're in Pigeon Forge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Did lunch with my wife while kids were at Dollywood. Excellent choice! Food was very tasty- not too rich - and very yummy. They use texting to call you to your table so you can walk around. Restaurant is open and roomy and service is good. Portions are generous- so come hungry and leave room on your belt! Totally worth it!

Thank 261TomW261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry L, Manager at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. So glad that you and your family enjoyed everything and hope to see Y'all back next time your in Pigeon Forge.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

The food is top notch as expected. Most of the staff are good at what they do but you do run in to the occasional not so good one. You can’t make a bad selection on any of the food. The only thing I would change is I wish the deserts were a bit better and they bring smaller portions in the beginning which is frustrating because there is not enough to go around and your waiting on more. And it’s not the meats they short you on it is the sides. The last time we were there they brought us a bowl of potatoes that my 8 year old ate by himself. He is a small eater at that. Anyway I love it other than that.

Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry L, Manager at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. So glad that you and your family enjoyed everything and hope to see Y'all back next time your in Pigeon Forge.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
72
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We had lunch here with our family of four. It is served family style. Two choices of meats and four choices of sides. Everyone also gets a dessert. We had fried chicken and pot roast, Mac and cheese, creamed corn, skillet beans and creamed potatoes. Everything was fantastic! For dessert we had vanilla and chocolate butter cake. It’s not really cake, more of a brownie or bar. It was a little too sweet for our tastes and we were wishing we tried the peach cobbler. The only reason I didn’t rate this five stars is because you are not allowed to take home any leftovers and in our country where we already waste so much food when people are going hungry it made me a little sick to think of how much food they probably throw out needlessly every day

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry L, Manager at Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for the great comments


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paula Deen's Family Kitchen also viewed

 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Paula Deen's Family Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing