We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice winter wine event but nothing to write home about”
Review of Polperro Bistro

Polperro Bistro
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Red Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$57
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Polperro is nestled among the vines and shaded by ancient Angophora trees on a stunning 25 acre property in the heart of the famous wine region Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula. Our aim is to create a synergy between the vineyard and kitchen, and incorporate the seasonal harvests from the estate into the constantly evolving bistro plates. We are committed to an ethos that promotes a relationship between the landscape, the people and the produce. Our approach is to offer fresh, textural & seasonal flavours with an emphasis on where the food comes from and how it is grown. A collaboration between winemaker and chef ensures a new generation of food & wine offerings. There is a strong focus towards casual dining and drinking with service that is both informed and personable.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The wine tasting on the edge of the vineyard was nice but much of that was about the beautiful sunny day in June. The live music was fine, but might have been hard to talk over if we had sat a lot closer.
The open fire wouldn't stay alight and lunch was extra. We were lucky we arrived early and got two seats because many people missed out, and had to eat and drink standing. There wasn't much point in staying on once we had eaten.

Thank portpad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2018

Usually fantastic, disappointed today, service off as understaffed, food so so and noise from a large group booking made the experience unpleasant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hello Andrew,
Thanks for taking the time to review our business, sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your visit. Unfortunately we cannot control the noise from other patrons, our staff always do their best to manage this within reason. We will pass your feedback on to management, sincere apologies that your experience was not as you have enjoyed in the past. Hope that you will return again. Kindest regards, Polperro Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch without a booking and was offered free wine tasting while we waited for a table. Maria was extremely knowledgeable and walked us through the wines until our table was ready.
We shared firsts which were fantastic the chizorio croquettes were best. Then we had thirds and the lamb was a winner. We shared a dessert a choc peanut slice which was a cringe to share. Georgia. Our waitress was first class. Book and enjoy.

Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hello Dominic,
Many thanks for the review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at Polperro, we have fantastic staff and glad they treated you to a special day!
Hope to see you return soon.
Kindest regards,
Polperro Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Went there to celebrate my birthday and was so far the best restaurant and winery I’ve ever Been
In Australia. The service was amazing so far. Well done Polperro

Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hello Anthony,
Thanks for the review. Our team is very proud to receive such wonderful feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Kindest regards, Polperro Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We were greeted with such a warm welcome and enjoyed a wonderful wine tasting which showcased the beautiful wines of Polperro. We then settled in to enjoy the tasting menu which was devine. The view was outastanding and nothing was too much trouble for the wait staff. Could not recommend more highly. Will definitely be back.

Thank Tonib76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hello Toni,
Thanks for the 5 star review.We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Polperro. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kindest regards, Polperro Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polperro Bistro also viewed

Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Polperro Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing