We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning. ”
Review of Polperro Winery

Polperro Winery
Ranked #6 of 20 things to do in Red Hill
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our cellar door is an intimate space featuring the Polperro and Even Keel wines. Reflecting winemaker Sam Coverdale's, passion and personality the tasting room is accessible for all wine enthusiasts and is designed to encourage conversation. Over 20 years Sam Coverdale has made wines throughout Australia and internationally. Sam's focus has always been on producing sustainable, restrained wines.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We had booked the picnic at Polperro for a special occasion and it blew away our expectations - we had one of the best afternoons of our trip at this beautiful venue. The food and organisation of the picnic was amazing, I can’t recommend this experience enough. Truly special. Very memorable.

Thank MRCC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Hello,

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you had an amazing experience at our venue.
Hope to see you next time.

Kindest regards,
Polperro Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"deck chairs"
in 4 reviews
"bottle of wine"
in 4 reviews
"tasting room"
in 4 reviews
"great wine tasting"
in 3 reviews
"young man"
in 3 reviews
"pinot noir"
in 4 reviews
"cellar door"
in 5 reviews
"lawn area"
in 2 reviews
"barramundi"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful venue"
in 2 reviews
"chicken and chips"
in 2 reviews
"service was excellent"
in 2 reviews
"long weekend"
in 2 reviews
"mornington peninsula"
in 4 reviews
"open fire"
in 2 reviews
"special occasion"
in 2 reviews
"delicious food"
in 2 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2018

We had lunch here and the highlight was the setting and the views. The food and wine were good but a bit overpriced for what it was. The views and setting more than made up for that aspect and all things considered a great place to visit.

1  Thank Paddy-Relle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Hello, Thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the views and setting.
Our menu features the best quality produce, including local products and elements grown in our kitchen garden. Prices are indicative of this quality in addition to the skilled people who both prepare and serve the meals. Our wines are hand-picked, processed by our team and are produced with care locally in Red Hill. We will take your feedback onboard and hope to see you again, even if for a few wines on the lawn. Kindest regards, Polperro Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Have had the pleasure of dining at Polperro a number of times and have always been thoroughly impressed. With a fabulous new menu showcasing flavours of home grown produce you did not disappoint. The new Chef has built on what was already a strong menu, creating dishes to suit every palette (menu variations for dietary requirements were warmly welcomed). From nitro caramel popcorn, to Kangaroo tartare, mouth-watering lamb and everything in between you cannot go wrong.

Tour menu is a great option showcasing the flavour sensation for both first time visitors and repeat customers.

1  Thank KMNich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Hello, Thanks for the fantastic review. We are so happy to receive this great feedback, our kitchen will be very pleased to hear that you loved your dining experience. Look forward to hosting you again soon! Kindest regards, Polperro Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Ate at 10 minutes and pt Leo and I felt this was the best food of the three. Kangaroo tartare and beautiful pork belly, unfortunately the wait between courses was ridiculous and one of our party the main was luck warm at best. We also stayed here (separate review)

1  Thank Brasser T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Hello, Many thanks for your review. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food at Polperro. Apologies that there was a delay between courses, rest assured if you visit again we have ironed out this issue, we had only been running this menu for 2 weeks when you visited. Hope to see you visit again soon! Kindest regards, Polperro Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Polperro is in a magical setting, and has plenty of eating options. We chose the bistro where the service was excellent but as we booked late we had what was possibly the worst table in the house. They also have a strict 2 hour limit as to how long you can stay at the table. It did not affect us on the day, but if it was a family gathering the time is far too short. It was the food which let things down. A charcuterie platter had a very salty dried Wagyu beef , salami and a salty dried ham, a small tasteless tub of terrine lots of hard dry tasteless biscuits ( crackers to non Aussies) some tiny pickled onions and some tiny gherkins, plus 2 slices of excellent baguette. It desperately needed some cheese, nuts and fruit to balance out the flavor, oh it did have some excellent fig paste and what I think was very tasty sweet pickled dates. The biscuits were almost inedible. We then had a Barramundi to share and a side of roasted potatoes. The barra had an asian influence being smothered in asian greens but it could not disguise overcooked fish. Served with an asian red sauce and tasteless black rice it was a disappointment. The potatoes were good. The acoustics in the room were terrible as people spoke louder and louder to make themselves understood in the end the noise level made us want to leave.
You could but wine by the glass or the bottle and beer. We drank lots of water and a little wine but still had a salt attack afterwards from the Charcuterie and craved water all afternoon. Had the food been better I would have rated this place higher, and we may have made bad choices with the food but I would rather go elsewhere as it was not a cheap meal.

Thank mmcin719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hello,
Thanks for the review, glad to hear you enjoyed the venue and setting.
In regards to the food we find your comments quite puzzling, a charcuterie plate is a selection of meats, which are cured with salt. If requested, your waiter/waitress could have added cheese for you, which is sold separately on our menu. The barramundi is a shared dish where all the elements of the dish- the fish, rice and curry sauce are meant to be eaten together, sorry if this was not communicated to you. We would certainly welcome you to visit again we have a new menu and chef - hope to see you soon! Kindest regards, Polperro Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polperro Winery also viewed

Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Polperro Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing