We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
35
5
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson arrivalkarennestunitschickensbedroompropertyweekendmelbournehost
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We organised for a group of 11 x 35+ year old women to have a hens party at Karma King Lake. Before booking I spoke with Karen and made it very clear we were coming for a hens party because I didn't want to have any issues once there. Karen was very encouraging and accommodating over the phone advising she had many hens parties at her property previously.
Unfortunately once we were there it was a very different story.
The first night we were told to go inside to our nests at 915pm because the noise of us sitting around chatting (with no music just chatting) was too loud. This was a Friday night. We then had to cram 11 girls into one nest which meant half of us were sitting on the floor.
The next day after we returned from the concert late at night she invited herself into one of the nests at 1130pm to have a go at us for where one of the guests had parked. We'd been given a lecture the day before about where not to park so one of the girls moved her car to where she thought she was supposed to park. Sadly this was not the case and we heard all about it at 1130pm after our fun night out at a concert. The guest who parked in the wrong spot had booked and paid to stay at Kinglake but after receiving a nasty note on her car decided to drive home to Melbourne in the middle of the night to avoid further conflict.
For 11 x 35yr old women to feel like naughty little school girls was not ideal. She ruined our weekend away which was meant to be a fun reunion for us girls who all live interstate and had not been together in a very long time.
I do not recommend this property to any groups. If you are looking for a quite getaway then this is the place to go. Nests were nice and clean but quite small.

Room Tip: The single beds are very small and uncomfortable
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Chrissy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Karma Kinglake is in a wonderful location. A rural outlook, as the accommodation venue is on the edge of town, yet close enough to walk to town. Karen was a great host. We texted her and nothing was too much trouble. The lodges are called nests and they are very comfortable, fully self-contained and you don't feel cramped. We did not want for anything. If you enjoy nature walks and the national parks then Kinglake is for you.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank G9017DEchrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

We visited Karma kinglake for one night and we all loved it. It’s a very pretty cottage with lovely surroundings. My kids loved the chickens especially! It’s a minute walk to the pub which is a big advantage. I highly recommend Karma and we would love to come back.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Our return trip to kinglake this year was at a different time we decided on the beginning of August to have our adventure back to the area, and travel to the places we missed last year because of time frame.

As soon i made the phone call to karen to let her know we were booking again it was like comming home to family.

We were given a different nest to what we had last year an wow it was spectacular we were very impressed, again on arrival heater on and food in the fridge.

So we are now going to adventure back next year around October.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank krissysone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We spent two wonderful days & nights at Karma Kinglake celebrating our son's wedding. The surroundings are tranquil and quite beautiful. The ceremony and reception were held in the gardens and courtyard and were the perfect setting. Karen made us feel so welcome and helped us with all the preparations and made sure we had everything we needed. We hope to go back soon to have a relaxing weekend in this lovely location and see more of Kinglake.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robsholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews