We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of the Botanic gardens, tasty food.”

Tarnuk Room & Boon Wurrung Cafe
Ranked #11 of 87 Restaurants in Cranbourne
Price range: US$3 - US$18
Description: Located in the stunning multi-award winning Australian Garden, Royal Botanic Gardens Cranbourne, the Boon Wurrung Cafe is open 7 days a week. Great range of cakes, meals, snacks, drinks and ice-creams available. Fully licensed. Breakfast from 9am-11:30am on weekends and public holidays. Groups welcome! Kiosk also located within the Australian Gardens for coffee, snacks and ice-creams. Plenty of free parking with free entry to the Gardens. The Tarnuk Room is available for functions/events of all types (also overlooking the Australian Garden). Various stunning sites available for wedding ceremonies. Everything you need in one amazing space
Restaurant details
Description: Located in the stunning multi-award winning Australian Garden, Royal Botanic Gardens Cranbourne, the Boon Wurrung Cafe is open 7 days a week. Great range of cakes, meals, snacks, drinks and ice-creams available. Fully licensed. Breakfast from 9am-11:30am on weekends and public holidays. Groups welcome! Kiosk also located within the Australian Gardens for coffee, snacks and ice-creams. Plenty of free parking with free entry to the Gardens. The Tarnuk Room is available for functions/events of all types (also overlooking the Australian Garden). Various stunning sites available for wedding ceremonies. Everything you need in one amazing space
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Well priced, good sized cafe meals. Caters for vegetarian and gluten free, as well as lots of local produce. Perfect spot for brunch, lunch or afternoon tea before or after a walk around the beautiful Australian Botanic Gardens. The sausage rolls are huge, sandwiches and cakes are delicious! Service can take a while when it is busy though.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ronchelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen O, Manager at Tarnuk Room & Boon Wurrung Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for your review Blueronni. We also think it is the perfect spot for delicious foods and stunning views. We do get very busy and try our best to deliver quality service as well as foods. Hope to see you next time you're at the Gardnens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2016

We had morning tea here with a group and the cafe wasn't busy but they were short on staff and apologised as it took ages to get our coffees. They had 3 goes at making an iced coffee despite being asked if they could make it for me. The slices and cakes were delicious by the way.
Would certainly eat there again when next visiting the gardens.

Thank Roma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen O, Manager at Tarnuk Room & Boon Wurrung Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for your review Roma, and yes, that was a very frustrating morning with last minute staff sickies.. I will be following up the iced coffee situation, my apologies for that. Very pleased you found the cakes and slices delicious and you will return to the cafe on your next Gardens visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We stipped in after exploring the gardens and got a bite to eat.
Absolutely delicious. Yummy yummy yummy. Great service and great food!

Thank Bec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen O, Manager at Tarnuk Room & Boon Wurrung Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Great review! Thanks Bec!! Hope to see you soon for more yummy yummy food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent customer service; very attentive and great value for money. You dont need to pay For entry if only going to cafe where the view is Fantastic

Thank Vanesa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen O, Manager at Tarnuk Room & Boon Wurrung Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank for your wonderful review! We look forward to welcoming you back to our cafe and the amazing gardens. As for the view, we truly are blessed with our location and love sharing it with our patrons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Good choice of casual dining. Great setting with Botanical gardens able to be viewed thru large glass windows. Great place to catch up for coffee or lunch then walk in gardens afterwards.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angelangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen O, Manager at Tarnuk Room & Boon Wurrung Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Thank you for your review Angela! We have been blessed to have such an awesome view from our cafe!! Hope to see you here again the next time you're in Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarnuk Room & Boon Wurrung Cafe also viewed

Cranbourne, Mornington Peninsula
Cranbourne, Mornington Peninsula
 
Cranbourne, Mornington Peninsula
Patterson Lakes, Greater Melbourne
 
Beaconsfield, Greater Melbourne
Hampton Park, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Tarnuk Room & Boon Wurrung Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing