We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD CHOICE FOR BRUNCH!!!!!!!”
Review of Twenty One

Twenty One
Ranked #19 of 193 Restaurants in Woollahra
Cuisines: European, Hungarian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Double Bay
Description: Twenty One (21) Espresso is one of Australia's oldest restaurants, founded in 1958 by John Schiffer - Father and Grandfather to the restaurant's current owners George and Michael. Twenty One was the first restaurant to introduce European style dining to Australia in the form of outdoor seating and also had one of the very first espresso machines - hence the inclusion in the restaurant name. Today, you can find traditional Hungarian and European dishes on the menu, whilst dining in a comfortable and cosy setting with warm and attentive service. The restaurant is open all day every day, should you feel like just popping in for a coffee and cake and to soak in the atmosphere.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Meeting my son & daughter for brunch recently it was their choice.We had to queue for a table but it was worth it.Good choice of food & busy atmosphere with great service from their attentive staff.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2018

Hungarian food is hard to find in Sydney, but here it is. Many of the guests appeared to be regulars, chattering away volubly in Hungarian. Not so many dishes on the menu were Hungarian, but I suspect that the chef can put together other dishes on demand. The food was excellent.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank TempleofPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2018

We have been to 21 a couple of times, quite enjoyed previous meals and the atmosphere is good. However, this time the food was cold apart from the schnitzel, which had just come from the fryer I suppose. We were given replacement mains by a very nice waiter doing his best, but of course our sides were then cold or had to be eaten before the replacement meals arrived. even the replacement meals were strangely lukewarm although the bottom of the plates were hot! Then the owner asked me if I wanted to add a tip to the bill!!! I won't be going there again!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank plumj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Worst Service and food I’ve ever experienced. I would never go back here. Locals love this place so it has an older following. I complained about my meal and things went from bad to worse. Double Bay has much better options - it would pay to stare clear of this one

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank TMRussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Great food with all your favourites on a fabulous menu. Old school and as good as it ever was.
Friendly, welcoming staff. A great homely favourite in the heart of Double Bay. A must on every visit.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Marysems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twenty One also viewed

Randwick, Greater Sydney
Woollahra, Sydney
 
Woollahra, Sydney
Rose Bay, Greater Sydney
 
Woollahra, Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing