We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$149
View deal
Expedia.comUS$152
Hotels.comUS$152
eDreamsUS$149
CheapTicketsUS$152
Trip.comUS$152
TravelocityUS$152
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
61
75
41
27
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
61
75
41
27
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a large car park steak pie town centre biscuits be visiting again old building stayed for one night short break menu meal marquee dogs homemade vegetarian rear
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2021

Sat outside for some food we were asked to download the app to order drinks and food, whilst doing that we were asked to fill in the covid visitor form which was all good. Drinks came out in a reasonable time.
That was all I can say that was good.
I had a simple bangers and mash. When I say simple, the bangers were over cooked and the mash was Cold. Peas weren't much better.
A simple dish woefully made.
This took almost 50 minutes to arrive, is not like it's a complicated dish!
Went in to use the toilet with a face covering to find lots of customers walking around with masks on. As far as I'm aware at this time they were to be worn whilst moving around the premises.
Very disappointed.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Service
Thank Flatfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Murphy, Owner at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2021

Your experience of our food was not as we would have wished on this occasion and your comments are noted thank you. Across our relatively large site we are unable to manage the movement of each individual from A to B as they move around. The responsibility to wear a mask is incumbent upon the individual and for our part we also constantly challenge anyone who is not wearing a mask when indoors. Sadly there are many individuals who are unable to think for themselves or for others and for whom we must constantly reinforce the message and we will continue. Another of our responses to restrictions includes portaloos located near to our garden so that customers who prefer to remain outdoors have the option not to enter the premises to use the loo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 December 2020

Went to Machynlleth for the weekly market , what a treat, plenty of variety at reasonable prices. We saw breakfast advertised and went in to sample. What a breakfast ,everything on your plate you could think of including fried bread ,lovely breakfast, & pleasant staff and most importantly sat the moment felt very safe , well done, in such trying times . Will defiantly be back , what a bargain full breakfast including tea or coffee £5 wow

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank Cosmopolitan236035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2020

we booked disabled . the room was on the top floor . on entering the so called superior double bedroom we saw 2 2.6ft single beds 2 scabby sofer beds i would not sleep on for sure. most of the lights did not work pull cords did not pull and we booked the best room in the place a few weeks in advanced . if this was one the best i would of loved to of seen the others. total and utter disgrace . a must to avoid we were so upset after all the traveling to get there . we got our case went down to the bar and demanded our money back [ 95 pounds] .so angry we drove back home 3 hour drive

Room tip: no 10- . so called luxury double [ not ]
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyj446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2020 via mobile

Nice food, Polite service, good covid measures, But watch/check your bill, menu said £5:95 for a panini, when I checked receipt when I got home we were charged £8:50 each, phoned to query mistake and got told that’s the old price we’ve put them up, I won’t be visiting again

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Myfanwy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2020

If you look at my previous reviews of The White Lion they have always been of a very good expirience

Again I am very pleased to say even in these most trying of times The White Lion rose to the Challenge, as we didn't book and have never done in the past I thought we might not be able to have dinner there, but The Staff were wonderful and acomodated all Six of us, Track and Trace had to be done but none of us minded that and accept this is now the new normal for the time being.
Never in all the Twenty odd years we have been coming here as a Family or with Friends have we ever had a bad meal or bad service, we shall continue to visit The White Lion when in the area and for my parents who live in Newtown this hopefully will be more often. WELL DONE TO YOU ALL !!

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews