We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet, cold and just brilliant..”

Voyages of Discovery (Ramsey Island)
Ranked #3 of 13 Tours in St. Davids
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We caught the 1530 trip just as the wind was picking up, a fast trip across to the island had us soaked in seaspray which was nicely mixed with the cold air and icy wind. And it was excellent. Seeing the seals was exciting enough but exploring the caves and getting so close to the rock formations was a remarkable experience too. The guys on the boat, Martin and Dave knew their subject and provided a friendly commentary throughout on wildlife and geology. The ride back included a few manoeuvres that got a few gasps and giggles too.. £5 for the car park in a field was a bit of a rip off but if you can overlook that, very well worth the trip.

2  Thank Boba9519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hour trip"
in 43 reviews
"ramsey island"
in 126 reviews
"sea birds"
in 43 reviews
"saw seals"
in 29 reviews
"great trip"
in 30 reviews
"boat ride"
in 26 reviews
"whale watching trip"
in 6 reviews
"longer trip"
in 17 reviews
"seal pups"
in 25 reviews
"booking office"
in 14 reviews
"great fun"
in 27 reviews
"dolphin watch"
in 5 reviews
"risso's dolphins"
in 5 reviews
"high speed"
in 13 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 15 reviews
"pay and display"
in 5 reviews
"excellent boat"
in 6 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm not reviewing the boats, but the 'Voyages of Discovery' car park. Went to park up to visit the lifeboat station on Bank holiday Sunday and was fleeced for £5 when the sign clearly stated £3. The excuse used by the car park attendant was 'Its new this year'. Only there 30minutes as the station was closed, so 30 mins in a muddy field for £5 made me feel as if we were ripped off. Went back to complain a second time but the attendant had done a runner. Was that an April fool?

Thank Glyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys P, Owner at Voyages of Discovery (Ramsey Island), responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Glyn,

Thank you for your review and comments. We are sorry that you feel your visit was spoiled by a charge for parking at St Justinians.

At present we are fighting to keep the car park at St Justinian open. The Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority(PCNPA) are at trying to force its closure so that the only option would be parking back in St Davids.

The parking charge at St Justinians has been increased this year to bring it in line with other car parks in the area. The additional revenue generated will go to help with the costs of fighting this threatened closure.

If this closure happens, then the visitors such as yourself who wish to visit the RNLI station, walk the coast path, kayak, or take a boat trip will have to park in St Davids where PCNPA car park costs of £5 per day and then catch a bus to St Justinians, costing a further £1.50 each way. At this time of year it should be noted that this bus only runs once every hour.

The closure of the car park would also place at risk the 100 or so jobs linked to the various boat companies presently operating out of St Justinians as well as the numerous other busineses that would be affected by the resulting reduction in tourist numbers visiting the area.

At present we are continuing to operate as normal and work towards a positive solution that will benefit locals and visitors alike.

Once again we are sorry you felt your visit to our area was spoiled. Should you chose to return to our area in the future please call into the office and we will arrange for a discount on a boat tour for yourself. We can also speak to the Cox'n of the lifeboat to possibly arrange a personal tour of the station.

Regards

Ieuan Jenkins
Office Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you’re looking for a professional experience with a touch of adrenaline this is the trip for you!! Not much wildlife for us to see in Mar but made up by a exhilarating boat ride! Many Thanks!

3  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017

Was persuade by friends to take a trip on the last day of the season. Thankfully managed to get a trip that morning with no pre booking. We were lucky with the weather for the end of October and a had a brilliant experience. Excellent guide with extensive knowledge of the island and its wild life. A great combination of thrills and interest.

Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys P, Owner at Voyages of Discovery (Ramsey Island), responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really do appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Voyage of Discovery with us and of course look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

Having seen the devastation of hurricane Brian a few weeks back, my thoughts of the seal pups led us to set aside time this autumn to see the wildlife and learn more about our coastline. I have to say, my 11year old son and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It was informative, exhilarating and one I would come back and do again. Our guides were well informed, humorous, clearly they enjoy their work immensely.

1  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys P, Owner at Voyages of Discovery (Ramsey Island), responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Firstly many thanks for your review. It always nice to hear back from our customers, and its great that you had such an enjoyable experience. We are very fortunate that we can show people this incredible part of the country, and the Wildlife within the area.
We hope to see you on another one of Voyages again soon.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voyages of Discovery (Ramsey Island) also viewed

St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to Voyages of Discovery (Ramsey Island)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing