We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,534)
Filter reviews
1,534 results
Traveler rating
733
550
160
58
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
733
550
160
58
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary breakfast free wifi air con bathroom door sofa bed budget hotel excellent hotel plenty of parking modern hotel excellent value for money beans easy access business park business trip buffet style walk in shower excellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 1,534 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2017

Poor customer satisfaction. Had terrible stay. Hotel is good and location is perfect. Rooms are good though bed are hard. Hotel did not serve lunch or dinner during the period we stayed. Had to go to restaurant opposite the hotel. Website stated that the restaurant gave discount to hotels guests. But this is not true. The manager at the restaurant said that they no longer give discounts to hotel guests. So had to travel away from hotel looking for restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank nkshv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2017

The hotel is situated just off the M4. The hotel is lovely but the beds are truly awful. They are so bad that it is difficult to even sleep as you can not get comfortable. It feels as if you are sleeping on planks of wood. They are hard and lack any sort of comfort.
This sad to say is my lasting impression of the hotel I doubt I shall be back considering a premier inn is hopefully close by

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Byron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGoldsworthy, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

We try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay.
All of the comments I receive are discussed with the whole team as we strive to learn from every response in order to continually improve our service and facilities,
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay , please accept my apologies for all the issues you have raised.
The complaints you raise are not our normal standard , and I am very disappointed that we could not meet your expectations of us.
I have arranged as you request a refund of 20,000 points , and very much hope this goes some way to reassure how seriously I have taken your comments.
It is always helpful to receive feedback from our valued guests and we use this to ensure that we meet your needs at all future stays at the property.
Thank you for coming to stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Good price, great service, very clean, food surprisingly good. Quiet location, easy to find, staff very helpful and friendly. Second time of staying and will certainly stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank O2729ZVpeterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGoldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

I am very pleased we looked after you so well and you were happy with the Hotel and my team.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Hopefully it will not be too long before you have the opportunity to return.
Kind Regards
Roger Goldsworthy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2017

In the past month we have stayed here several times this month and every time this hotel never fails. We had an issue with a room on a 2 day stay, the thermostat had broken and the room was very hot.
We rang reception and someone came up with a fan and looked at another room. When we came down there was another room ready and nothing was to much. Helpful and friendly staff, breakfast and plenty of breakfast staff. we will stay here again and again. Well done.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGoldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us your kind views.
One of the great things about operating a Hampton is the freedom there is to create our own brand of ‘Hamptonality’
Although the rooms are all be of the same high quality,
The free breakfast / free internet and great amenities the same, we are able stamp our own personality on the service we offer.
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2017

As the title states this was our second visit to this hotel. Due to room issues encountered last time, on this occasion we booked via Hilton's own website to avoid being given a disabled room once again. This two night stay was not a holiday more a stop over either side whilst visiting relatives.

Check in on an extremely hot day was swift and thorough, and yes we had avoided a disabled room. Everything we needed to know was explained and extra help was provided when we asked for directions to Tintern Abbey. Our room 116 was on the first floor on the back of the hotel.

This hotel is virtually on the hard shoulder of the M4 motorway just outside Newport and we have to comment that the double glazing/sound proofing is very good. Indeed on the first night of our stay there was a thunderstorm which we knew nothing about. But the downside of this degree of noise control is that the windows do not open but the air conditioning was effecient.

The room was pleasantly decorated, clean and had all the usual facilities including an ironing board and iron. There is however a lack of drawer based storage, indeed we had to use the one narrow shelf on the central bedside unit. The bathroom had a walk in shower with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, unfortunately our shampoo dispenser didn't work but this was a minor issue.

The downside of our room was the bed which was very uncomfortable, had a hard, poor quality mattress which creaked constantly. Bearing in mind most people book overnight hotel rooms to get a decent nights sleep I am surprised that a hotel chain of this calibre, which no doubt places itself above its competition, does not provide a quality, comfortable bed. Sadly we didn't get much rest.

Included within our rate was breakfast. Being a bank holiday weekend the hotel was busy. Indeed on one night it was full. However breakfast wasn't the best experience. The buffet facility was under pressure and the choice of fresh fruit (basically tinned grapefruit and mandarin segments) was limited. The coffee wasn't good. We didn't bother on the second morning.

Would this hotel be our first 'price check' or booking consideration when making this trip? Probably not and that is solely down to the poor quality of the beds. I have since read that the beds are being upgraded sometime this year. This is of no consolation to those guests who are still having to endure the poor mattresses currently in situ and perhaps reflects a little on the priority given to guest comfort by this hotel chain.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welsh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGoldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your review.
I am very pleased you found the Hotel and the staff suited your needs , we have a great little team here who take a lot of pride in their work.
You make a good point with regard to the breakfast , and we are currently planning an upgrade to improve this element of the service we offer .
I can assure you this will be improved immediately.
Thank you again
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews