We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochearn House(Lochearnhead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tigh na Crich(Lochearnhead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveler rating
338
319
87
62
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
319
87
62
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclachan cottagegroupon dealbreakfast roomboth nightsloch viewstaff were friendlysteak piebar areabar foodloch earncullen skinkscallopsboth morningsdog friendly hotelnight breakcooked breakfastlovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 857 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We stayed for three nights in and checked in with no problems and directed to our room which was very nicely decorated and clean with a good big bed. The room and en suite both very comfortable as was the hotel overall. The hotel is quite an old traditional stone building and not therefore all modern luxuries but allowing for the odd creak etc everything was fine.
Staff all very friendly / polite
Room very comfortable
Breakfast very good
Meals very good but limited choice
As someone else mentioned, our fire alarm also went off once but this did not at all ruin our stay.
Overall we would happily return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone else. It does have shortfalls mostly due to its age and construction but we did enjoy our few days. The location is convenient to much of the countryside in the immediate area and within reasonable distance of Loch Lomond, Glencoe, Oban and Fort William.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks so much, i know your busy and when u get home your holidays over and it can be tedious responding to any review requests, so once again really grateful for u to be so candid in your review, yes we know theres winding corridors and some sqeuaky floorboards but alas its not a new building having started life in 1743 but hey ho thats all part of the charms, quirky is a good description.

thanks guys and welcome back

alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

My Husband booked Us a trip away for my Birthday! And I am so Happy he did The staff have been amazing, friendly,easy to talk to and nothing was to much! The food was second to none! Top quality in the Bar and Restaurant,Very generous portions (never left hungry) We were going to have a meal out but decided the food was So Lovely we wanted to eat here all the time The breakfast was delicious and plentiful with lovely cheerful staff to greet us every morning Our Loch View Room was perfect, lovely size,clean and comfortable and waking up with such beautiful scenery is a Great start to every morning! We have to go home in the morning But we will definitely be back for Our Anniversary! Thank you everyone for making it so special for Us Keep doing what your doing

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Denise22970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Our warmest thanks for taking the time to post such an amazing review, trust your return trip was a joy and im sure you have plenty pictures to look back on your scottish adventure, best regards

alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed @ the Clachan as I was attending a family wedding anniversary lunch so booked a room as I hadn't been to Lochearnhead in about 30 years!!
Lunch in the restaurant was smooth & faultless, was a great 3 course lunch menu which we could choose what we wanted!!
Those who were staying at the hotel met up in the cosy bar , which serves delicious meals also & has a great atmosphere with ski's on the wall & a lovely fire.
The room was simple but clean & the bed was cosy & I had a great nights sleep.
Great variety at breakfast with help yourself to cereals & continental items , whilst you order anything cooked from a menu. Well presented tasty food & I could not fault anything from the lunch , to drinks & atmosphere in the bar to the bedroom to breakfast!! The views over Loch Earn & looking out to Edinample Castle opposite are beautiful whatever time of the day!! It's just a shame I didn't stay longer !!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank thepensta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Clachan, its a funny old world when you recieve a review from someone in the same room and they say how dissapointing the place was!!
it was great to hear some of the stories from the castle wedding couple.

many thanks

alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped in on spec on the way to Dalavich. Lunch was wonderful, with a wonderfully friendly chap behind the bar. Would definitely recommend. Wife and mother-in-law had Chicken and haggis and the Sea Bass. Both very happy. I had baked Camembert which was wonderful.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank D. H. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Many thanks for your glowing review, so glad you enjoyed your lunch and glad you picked us to treat your wifes birthday.

regards

alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2017

A great stay with a fantastic view over the loch. The staff were brilliant and the room was both very spacious and made sure it was a fantastic nights stay.

Have passed this hotel for a number of years thinking it would be a great place to stay and certainly did not let me down.

Would certainly recommend this as a great place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scottflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

you would be surprised at the number of people who say the same, been passing the door for years...........well i can only thank you wholeheartedly for such a wonderful review, and for taking the time to write about us. many thanks

alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews