We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$110
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochearn House(Lochearnhead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tigh na Crich(Lochearnhead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveler rating
338
319
87
62
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
319
87
62
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclachan cottagegroupon dealbreakfast roomboth nightsloch viewstaff were friendlysteak piebar areabar foodloch earncullen skinkscallopsboth morningsdog friendly hotelnight breakcooked breakfastlovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 857 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed @ the Clachan as I was attending a family wedding anniversary lunch so booked a room as I hadn't been to Lochearnhead in about 30 years!!
Lunch in the restaurant was smooth & faultless, was a great 3 course lunch menu which we could choose what we wanted!!
Those who were staying at the hotel met up in the cosy bar , which serves delicious meals also & has a great atmosphere with ski's on the wall & a lovely fire.
The room was simple but clean & the bed was cosy & I had a great nights sleep.
Great variety at breakfast with help yourself to cereals & continental items , whilst you order anything cooked from a menu. Well presented tasty food & I could not fault anything from the lunch , to drinks & atmosphere in the bar to the bedroom to breakfast!! The views over Loch Earn & looking out to Edinample Castle opposite are beautiful whatever time of the day!! It's just a shame I didn't stay longer !!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank thepensta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Clachan, its a funny old world when you recieve a review from someone in the same room and they say how dissapointing the place was!!
it was great to hear some of the stories from the castle wedding couple.

many thanks

alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped in on spec on the way to Dalavich. Lunch was wonderful, with a wonderfully friendly chap behind the bar. Would definitely recommend. Wife and mother-in-law had Chicken and haggis and the Sea Bass. Both very happy. I had baked Camembert which was wonderful.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank D. H. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Many thanks for your glowing review, so glad you enjoyed your lunch and glad you picked us to treat your wifes birthday.

regards

alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2017

A great stay with a fantastic view over the loch. The staff were brilliant and the room was both very spacious and made sure it was a fantastic nights stay.

Have passed this hotel for a number of years thinking it would be a great place to stay and certainly did not let me down.

Would certainly recommend this as a great place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scottflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

you would be surprised at the number of people who say the same, been passing the door for years...........well i can only thank you wholeheartedly for such a wonderful review, and for taking the time to write about us. many thanks

alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2017

On arrival were asked to pay before check-in also asked for wrong amount. Room facing back, a bit dark and heavy dark furniture didn't help. However at least it was quiet. Only one chair so I had to sit on the bed. Bathroom was large but the tiling round the bath was very rough and the blind cord was broken. In the morning things got worse when there was no hot water from the shower after running it for 10 minutes. Managed to get hot water from bath tap but it was not easy to use as there was no rubber mat in the bath. Also water at basin was not hot enough for shaving- had to boil the kettle. I reported this downstairs at reception. Next morning still no hot water from shower so once again had to struggle with bath. I feel certain this is normal for this room as being told to run the water for longer just doesn't work. A fair selection on the breakfast buffet was on offer but after asking for bacon and egg and being presented with one rasher of bacon and one small egg on a large plate meant I asked for two of each next morning. The menu in the restaurant is the same for the bar - not a big selection of mainly pub grub. It was ok if a little expensive. The price of the drinks was reasonable. Food and drinks to be ordered at bar where there is a sign saying that an extra 40p is added to every card transaction. They should write Welcome to Scotland above that!
This hotel is in probably the best position on the loch and has a lot of old world character but I can't say we were impressed. Internet rarely works.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandHattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Manager at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

many thanks for your kind review, wil look into hot water situatioin as we have a new combi instant on demand system installed?
regarding the room, you booked and paid for the cheaper rear facing room so perhaps you shouldnt have been too surprised that it was a rear facing room, every room has 2 chairs so not sure how you can make this up? maybe you had your luggage on the other one? regarding cc charges this is normal in smal business as all transactions are charged for.

many thanks for your comments, if you can provide your name and when you stayed we can find out more about the room?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2017

A small hamlet actually fronting onto the loch over a quiet ( for us ) road. Amazing hotel with great staff. Very atmospheric with lots of white painted stone walls interspersed with tasteful additions and rebuild to give good atmosphere. Stunningly quiet at night and a view in the morning to die for. We ate here mainly because there was little choice without using the car but never felt that we were being taken advantage of. Locals are friendly and several ski boats were moored in the loch and there was both a capacious, if somewaht muddy car park and a slipway to use.

Great place to just relax and unwind and eat drink and be merry. I have little doubt that there are walks and cycle paths aplenty but we were car bound and only staying one night.

Would return for longer, particularly if I brought a canoe.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews