We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochearn House(Lochearnhead)(Great Value!)
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tigh na Crich(Lochearnhead)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveler rating
342
320
86
62
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
320
86
62
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclachan cottagegroupon dealbreakfast roomboth nightsloch viewpool tablestaff were friendlysteak piebar areabar foodloch earnscallopscullen skinknight breakdog friendly hotelcooked breakfastrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 862 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night to break up our drive to the Highlands. Had a loch view room which was comfortable for the one night but would probably want a larger room if staying any longer. Bed was very comfortable and place was extremely clean. Had a gorgeous meal in the restaurant and breakfast the next day was lovely. Had a few drinks in the bar which was comfortable and pleasant. If visiting a drive to the end of the loch to see the mirror man is well worth the short drive.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda-Donnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Manager at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefuly you will return to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

A very enjoyable weekend break. Our room was comfortable and well equiped and had the best view out over the loch. We chose to dine in the more formal restaurant and were not disappointed. The food was to a high standard and complimented by a fine wine selection. We later spent the evening in the bar with a mix of guests and locals and had a good time. I have to add that at all times the staff were friendly and helpful. Though not the cheapest hotel in the area we were very pleased we chose this hotel. The decor and character of the building were pleasant too. We would recomend it.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank David150214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

huge thanks to you for spending the time to give us a cracking review, the same night i received another review saying we were the worst place in scotland! !! its a funny old world.

many thanks

alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Popped in Saturday evening for a bite to eat. Fortunately, we did not have to wait long on a table. Lovely views over the loch . Fish and chips were lovely.... service good.... no complaints whatsoever....

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GIVEMEABREAK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thats just brilliant, so glad you picked the world famous clachan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Close to the lake, nice view. The road si between the hotel and the lake but it's a quiet road. The room was clean and large with a lake view. We had dinner at the bar, very kindness service and good cuisine.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank semaforo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Manager at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

So pleased to hear you enjoyed the Clachan Cottage Hotel hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2017

First with the positive...the view was lovely. But that is where my positives' stop. The hotel is very tired. The rooms could do with an update and paint job. The shower was so small you could hardly turn in it and the toilet seat fell off in the middle of the night. Wifi did not work in the room and I had to go into the bar to check email. The bar smelled like fried food and the tables were sticky. We had an evening meal which was very poor and expensive. It seem they do a menu everyday with the usual fish & chips , burgers etc. and then have 3 specials in the evening that appear more upmarket.....we chose two of these and neither my husband or I enjoyed dinner at all. We traveled around Scotland and had much nicer overnight stops for less price than here. I think they are charging a very high price for the view.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Melrose48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

thanks for your time, we obviously can't do anything once you have left or eaten all your food, i checked the price you paid and for 2 persons on bed and breakfast wow what a deal, you should be kicking and skipping your way out the door! somedays if its quiet i will discount some of our smaller back rooms, hey guys if you had wanted to upgrade theres always our deluxe rooms, funny world but its fairly normal you get what you pay for, NEXT time ha why not try a seat in the restaurant as unlike the bar its not so busy and very fresh always, the bar is a public bar with many people /dogs/bar meals etc thats because its the bar, the clue is in the title.
hoping you enjoyed your stay in scotland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews