We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
271
45
8
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
271
45
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great food fish and chips the pub talisker distillery porridge fairy pools both nights warm welcome each morning blue murder daily specials cullen skink room was spotless little touches couldn t down the road apple pie
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

Been to this place several times for food and it is first class! We’re local to the area and it’s difficult not to want to come here for dinner everyday! Great selection of beers wines and spirits too : )

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sc79wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2021

As regular visitors to the “T.A” as it’s affectionately known we can’t pretend to be unbiased but we are regulars for a reason. Our trips often start (and end!) with dinner here and the wonderful food, service and welcome keep us coming back time after time. Last nights meal was one of the best yet and the local seafood was AMAZING! After a long trip up we were tired so it was a trip to our oasis of food heaven then home for an early night but we’ll back back later in the week for more delicious food and to visit the fabulous top shelf collection whisky and gins before we go
.
Thanks again to Katie and the team, we love the Taigh Ailean ❤️

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Keith_Karen_boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2021

Excellent food and excellent service, would highly recommend this to anyone. We had the mushrooms to start, ribs and trout for main and the chocolate fudge cake for desert and they were all delicious.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 963darrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie Heron, Owner at Taigh Ailean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2021

Thankyou for eating with us in Portnalong and also thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your dinners.
We hope you enjoy the remainder of your holiday.
Best wishes,
Katie & Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2021 via mobile

Great service and a small friendly hotel. Breakfasts very good, and a varied range of dinner food, very reasonably priced (especially for Skye and with generous portions) book for this as it can get busy. Room was clean and well equipped for a small pub / hotel and also there was a residents room with board games / books etc and would be good if you had come in a small group. Small team clearly working very hard with the additions of Covid rules - but clearly with a customer focus and deserve to be successful. We stayed for 2 nights and happy to recommend.

Room tip: Close to Talisker distillery about 3 miles away. Book for this.
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank NDMEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2021 via mobile

I’m a frequent customer who loves this tucked away gem on the beautiful shores of Loch Harport.

We’re always met with a friendly welcome whether it’s to the beer garden in the sunshine, or to the cozy bar beside their epic roaring fire in winter.

The hospitality is top notch, good selection of drinks in the bar and the food is wonderful. What more could you want?

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Andy1Rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie Heron, Owner at Taigh Ailean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2021

The biggest compliment our business can receive is when the local people eat with us and recommend us to other people. We appreciate all our locals - you are more importnat to us than I can explain.
Love, J. K and F x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews