We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Park Lodge Hotel(Tobermory)
US$115
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 08/02
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Glengorm Castle(Tobermory)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arle Lodge(Tobermory)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Achafraoich(Tobermory)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Croft(Tobermory)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Linndhu House(Tobermory)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
34
47
16
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
47
16
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbigger roomhotel wifilewis hamiltontop floorlovely mealfamily roombeautiful harbour viewfish and chipsmorning breakfastwindow seatmusic festivalshared bathroomfirst flooreasy parkingfree wifipleasant staybeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018

We had a fantastic weekend stag party in Tobermory with 22 of us staying at the Mishnish. The hotel staff couldn’t have been more helpful. Very comfortable accommodation and great bar. The food in the main restaurant is superb, in particular the fresh seafood, oysters, langoustines, mussels & best chowder. Tobermory also very welcoming and friendly and the distillery is well worth a visit too.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank 550dougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Lovely, clean hotel with great views - but what really makes this place special is the staff. They are all exceptionally friendly, professional, efficient and very very welcoming. Really top notch, great place to stay if you're travelling solo.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ledaig2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

A superb new year from the staff at 'The Mish'.Paul especially,highly professional and went the extra mile to sort accommodation for us.The view from our room across the bay,light and relaxing.The spectacle of new year fireworks from our own window seat made us feel like royalty.Bar food great,very reasonably priced.Decor and style of the Mishnish and warmth of welcome as good as ever.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank mjeaniethompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed overnight in one of the more expensive sea facing rooms.The hotel was extremely quiet but the room price was still £120 a night in January. One of the main problems with the room is the tiny bathroom with the toilet positioned in such a tight space that only 5 inches between the edge of the seat and the wall so you are forced to sit sideways! The silicone is black with mould round the shower and needs replaced.The bed was very small, hard and uncomfortable. There is no wardrobe or any kind of rail in the room to hang clothes and only a hook on the back of the door.My biggest gripe would be the amount of dust on every surface in the room which was needing a good clean as was the rest of the property.All the public staircarpets were needing hovered and any ornaments,were dusty. The restaurant was overpriced for the basic pub grub on offer and the fish batter was soggy, dripping in cooking oil and indigestable. The hand cut chips tasted of reheated potato. One positive was the very friendly and chatty waitress from New Zealand. Breakfast was adequate and served very efficiently by a Polish waitress who unfortunately had to leave us on our own at 9am as her cleaning shift in the bar started then.It says breakfast is served until 9.30 but there is no one there to serve you if you turned up later than we did at 8.30.We had to go searching for the same lady through in the closed bar area in order to pay when we left. At no point were we asked if everything was ok or if we had enjoyed our stay. Bear in mind also that there is a bar downstairs frequented by cursing, rowdy customers who spill out onto the pavement in front to smoke or hang around after closing. Don't expect to get any sleep until the early hours of the morning with the brawling and swearing going on under the bedroom window. I did call reception to ask when the noise was likely to stop but no one bothered to answer the phone. Such a pity that a hotel in such a prime position in Tobermory is being run so badly with so little concern for their customers but charging people a lot of money in return for a very poor product.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AltanZorlufamilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMishnish, Manager at Mishnish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry you were dissatisfied during your stay.

We take our housekeeping very seriously, and it is rare we receive comments like this, so we will take on board what you have said. I believe you stayed over the time we were taking down our Christmas decorations, so this will explain the communal stair carpets and general dust! We have spoken to the staff member who served you breakfast, and it was made clear to you that she was heading down to the bar to commence cleaning, but she made sure that you had everything you needed and replenished what you had. As you have mentioned, it was a quiet time in the hotel so, we did not feel it necessary to have another person at breakfast and you were in the breakfast room well after our stated breakfast time.

With regards to your meal, the fish on our menu comes in a beer batter (which is clearly stated on the menu) however, you asked us for a batter without any beer. We accommodated your request by asking our chef to make up a beer-free batter, which he did, and it is unfortunate that this was not to your taste and we do apologise that you felt it ‘indigestible’.

Unfortunately, whilst we do encourage customers to keep their language to a minimum in the bar, we cannot be held accountable for customer behaviour when they leave our premises (the public pavement to the front of the property). However, we do apologise if you were kept awake by the noise outside, and we will look into ways we can minimise this. We do not hide the fact that the hotel is above a popular busy bar, and our music is switched off at 1am, when the bar closes. We believe that our general feedback, yours aside, reflects customer satisfaction and we are sorry our service did not meet your expectations.

If you wish to discuss your stay in more detail, please don’t hesitate to contact us at info@themishnish.co.uk.

All the best,

The Mishnish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Booked for a planned hotel stay of our honeymoon, specifically as there was availability in their dog friendly room. On arrival found we had been downgraded to a room which wasn't meant to allow dogs. Also they tried to charge for the higher price room later.
room was a bit run down really, and too small for us. Generally just a big disappointment although breakfast was a redeeming factor!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SamCatPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews