We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch time bite to eathad”

Fishermans Pier Fish & Chip Van
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Tobermory
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Had chips and a small haddock from the van. Cooked to order within 10 mins. Tasty fish. Too much batter for my liking but good overall.

Sat opposite van on harbour wall to eat.

Van opens at 12:30.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Trehwfa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2018

I've been lucky enough to eat in some of the best restaurants in the UK and beyond but sitting in my car today, as the rain poured down, eating quite simply the most perfect fish (no chips as I was not that hungry but wanted to try the fish), I realised that this was probably one of the best meals I have ever eaten in over 50 years on this planet. The batter crunched and the fish (caught just a few hours ago) was absolutely perfect. I cannot recommend this enough. It bears absolutely no resemblance in any way whatsoever to 'fish and chips' I have eaten before in gastro pubs etc.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NMImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Visited in February when the island is quiet and many attractions and restaurants are closed so it was welcome to find this little fish and chip van on the pier in Tobermory. Orders are cooked fresh, which is fair enough with so few clients and the choice is excellent. The fish was lovely and fresh and the batter crisp and not too greasy. Big let down we’re the chips which were frozen, slightly hard and very dry. Worth a visit if you are in the area though.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Josrobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Something I have not done for ages - fish and chips from a van at the seaside. They were delicious. It was a lovely early evening in August and a beautiful setting by the harbour.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Batter needs more seasoning and the chips are undercooked! The chips are pale and bland and flavourless but the fish is quite nice.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank malloryk403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishermans Pier Fish & Chip Van also viewed

Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Fishermans Pier Fish & Chip Van? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing