We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
178
18
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
178
18
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle suite golf course own wine red squirrels excellent hosts beautiful location fabulous stay access road breakfast was delicious a great place to stay warm welcome full scottish beautiful house cycling trip both mornings course dinner lovely meal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2021

We spent three nights at this B&B in May 2021. The accommodation was excellent so was the food. We found it was very convenient to take the evening meals as well as the breakfast particularly during the COVID times, as it was necessary to book ahead to go elsewhere.
The only minor comment is the access to the property which requires some skill to avoid the humps and bumps!
I should also add that I first booked this location for May 2020 but due to COVID it had to be cancelled. I re-booked for 2021 when we had a good idea that it would be possible by then.

Room tip: We were upgraded to a suite
Date of stay: June 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guide35563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath McGurk, Owner at Butt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you Peter for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and Mac's cooking. You are right the track does need a little care in navigating the bumps, particularly the two drainage channels, glad you managed it. Cath & Mac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2021

Just returned home last night from a wonderful stay at Butt Lodge. What can I say. The view over the golf course to the castle and sea is outstanding. Lots of red deer right outside your window . Perfect peace and tranquility.
Our host Cath and Mac were wonderful and work so hard in ensuring that you have everything you need to make your stay more enjoyable. The breakfast was beautiful and soooo filling ! It sets you up for the day. Mac even made us a lovely flapjack to take with us on the day we did goat fell!! Only ate once at night st the lodge but the food and service was very good. Bring your own wine which is even better.

Our room (4) was on the small side but the bed was very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. Could do with a little stool and a dressing table mirror to sit and do hair make up etc . Our friends room (3) was quite large and bright. I would choose another room to stay in if we returned. The bathroom was good with a strong powerful shower.

We ate out 2 nights . Corrie Hotel . Standard food but good service and the Lighthouse which was slightly better.

Thank you Cath and Mac. Hopefully see you both again . Good luck.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TURKEYWALKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath McGurk, Owner at Butt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you Diane for your lovely words and good wishes, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
The Superior King rooms are more spacious and probably more suited for a longer stay.
I do hope we see you both back at Butt Lodge
Cath & Mac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2021

If you like stunning mountain views and mouth watering food you can have both while enjoying your evening meal or breakfast at Butt Lodge. Just look out of the window of the dining room. You might also see one of the local stags peering in.
We stayed for the second time and can highly recommend Butt Lodge as the perfect B&B. The walking on Arran is great (and not too demanding) and Cath and Mac the perfect hosts. Thanks to them for making our stay extra special.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stephenhT1918VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath McGurk, Owner at Butt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

Thank you Stephen, it was lovely to see you both again. We are glad you enjoyed your second visit to Butt Lodge and Arran as much as the first. You are always welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2021

So, you want to visit Arran and you must because it is a beautiful island. And where are you going to stay? You've read the 5* reviews about Butt Lodge so you must book and experience this for yourselves. Thank you to our wonderful hosts Cath and Mac who know how to make you feel at home. Book an evening meal so you can be plied with food of the gods using locally sourced products. We will be back. A huge thank you from us both.

Room tip: Room 3 has a dual aspect down to the sea and to the hills.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Beachbabe013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath McGurk, Owner at Butt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

Thank you so much for your lovely words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and Mac's cooking. We hope to welcome you back to Butt Lodge in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2021

This was our second time to Butt Lodge - last time under the previous owners. We gave it a 5 star rating then.. but it gone one step better with Mac and Cath in charge!
The rooms, location and homely hotel feel remain but the food and the friendly welcome are now even better. Mac's chef training comes through in the evening meals which are high quality restaurant meals and a complete no-brainer at their current pricing. Must be the best B&B (and dinner!) in Arran

Room tip: rooms are priced according to desirability - check their website
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardhX1435HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath McGurk, Owner at Butt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Aww thank you Richard for your lovely review, we are so glad you were not disappointed with your return visit to Butt Lodge. We really do appreciate your lovely words and your endorsement of Mac's cooking. We hope to see you back. Cath & Mac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews