We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
eDreams
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
194
18
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
194
18
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle suite golf course own wine red squirrels excellent hosts beautiful location fabulous stay access road breakfast was delicious a great place to stay warm welcome full scottish beautiful house cycling trip both mornings course dinner lovely meal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2021

This was our second time to Butt Lodge - last time under the previous owners. We gave it a 5 star rating then.. but it gone one step better with Mac and Cath in charge!
The rooms, location and homely hotel feel remain but the food and the friendly welcome are now even better. Mac's chef training comes through in the evening meals which are high quality restaurant meals and a complete no-brainer at their current pricing. Must be the best B&B (and dinner!) in Arran

Room tip: rooms are priced according to desirability - check their website
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardhX1435HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath McGurk, Owner at Butt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Aww thank you Richard for your lovely review, we are so glad you were not disappointed with your return visit to Butt Lodge. We really do appreciate your lovely words and your endorsement of Mac's cooking. We hope to see you back. Cath & Mac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 May 2021

Looking at the other reviews you might think surely it can't be that good, but actually it is. Arran is a beautiful place, and Lochranza is at the interesting end, near the mountains and by the sea. Fabulous wildlife - we saw a pair of golden eagles in the hills, and in a short walk down to the shore we saw seals, red-breasted mergansers, oystercatchers, cormorants, . . .
Butt lodge is in a quiet corner, with views over the golf course to the hills.
Other reviews have raved about the welcome from Cath and Mac, and the care they take, and about the quality of Mac's food, and I don't need to repeat those here; to me it was the little touches that counted. The food is locally sourced where possible (don't miss the hot smoked salmon from Skipness, just across the water); there are none of those intensely annoying plastic pots of milk in the bedrooms, rather a flask of proper milk. In fact an absolute minimum amount of plastic waste anywhere.
A stay at Butt Lodge feels less that Cath and Mac are "running a business", more like they love where they are and what they do, and they want to share that with you.

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath McGurk, Owner at Butt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2021

Thank you Dave for such a fabulous review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Butt Lodge and appreciate our efforts to minimise the use of plastic. We love Lochranza and Arran and we like it when our guests do too. Cath & Mac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2021

We have returned to Butt Lodge for the third time. As always it was an enjoyable and beautiful experience.
Mac and Cath make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Our room had a great view of the sunset on one side and the golf course with the occasional roaming stags on the other.
The food was of outstanding quality and very tasty.
We felt to be in a safe environment as Cath, Mac and the staff strictly followed the governments covid guidelines without making it feel intimidating.
Looking forward to another visit in this this beautiful place.

Room tip: Room 3 is at the end of the corridor which is quiter and has a beautiful view.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank claudio m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath McGurk, Owner at Butt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Thank you Claudio for your lovely review. It is always a pleasure to welcome you both to Butt Lodge and we hope it won't be too long before you are back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2021

Absolutely perfect. The decor is beautiful, modern , but still homely and fitting with its surroundings. The view from our room was spectacular. You couldn't ask for more. The breakfast each morning was delicious and the flapjacks for our walk up goat fell was a very kind and thoughtful touch. We also had dinner both nights we stayed and it was genuinely top restaurant quality. Every course was faultless and I'm so glad we had dinner here too because it made our trip.
We both felt so welcomed and everyone was so genuine and kind to us and our wee dog.
I would recommend this accommodation to everyone and will definitely return again and again . It genuinely made our trip just perfect. The scenery is out of this world and the hospitality and food world class.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank GlasgowN6511GZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath McGurk, Owner at Butt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2021

Thank you for your fab review, we are so glad all three of you enjoyed your stay so much and can't wait to see you again. Cath & Mac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 November 2020 via mobile

We had to do an overnight in Arran as we were delivering a stove to a customer. We stayed for one night in Butt Lodge. After a lovely welcome from Cath and head of customer experience Ginger the cat, we were shown to our gorgeous room. We had pre-booked dinner and I have to say, the food was superb. Mac is the chef and is awesome. I had the best chicken liver pate I've ever had and the rest of the meal held up to the high standard of the starter. Cath and Mac are lovely hosts and I would recommend a stay at Butt Lodge to everyone. P.s. epic shower in the room.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank suemA8202BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath McGurk, Owner at Butt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Thanks Sue for the lovely review and recommendation. Ginger likes to meet and greet as many guests as he can, sometimes he doesn't manage it if he is busy......having a nap, he is very happy you appreciated it. We hope to welcome you both back, if you you are over this way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews