We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shadow of its former self”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Chideock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We serve the finest Palmer's Ales and fantastic food with ingredients sourced from the best local producers.Our cliff top terrace comfortably seats 100 and the views are arguably some of the best in the country, if not the world!During the summer months we serve a great selection of fresh fish & shellfish caught from West Bay and Weymouth, and lobsters straight from our beach!In winter, the emphasis changes to hearty stews, slow cooked meats and watching the storm waves crash in with the comfort of our roaring wood burner.So whether you're after a light bite, a full on lunch or dinner, or just a pint or two, then The Anchor Inn at Seatown is the place for you!!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A shadow of its former self. Visiting the Anchor Inn on a regular basis, we now find it is closed 2 days a week and 50% of outside seating is closed. A beautiful pub in a prime position, what a shame.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Travel32604261387
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 1,957 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Walked over to The Anchor at Seatown from Eype on a sunny August Sunday. Knew we couldn't book and it was on 'first come first come' basis. Very Covid aware and good queing system meant that we were seated within 20 minutes at outdoor table, with fabulous view of the beach and sun shade. Sensible and tempting menu - food arrived within 15 minutes and was fabulous. Really reccommend!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WiltshireJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful Scallops & Sea Bream in a stunning location with really great waiting on staff. On a very busy August Sunday lunchtime this was about as good as English gastropub food gets.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank DickieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really couldn't fault it, incredibly busy but attentive, helpful, speedy service and exceptional food.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank saranQ1588RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2021

Firstly took us 3 attempts to get into this restaurant and was turned away for being too busy which we never felt was the case.
When we was allowed into the restaurant on our 4th attempt we was greeted by a very rude member of staff.
We was waiting for 15 minutes before we was greeted and then when the man finally came over he was very rude and asked ‘do we want a table or not’ and then walked away to come back 5 minutes later. We was sat down and seemed to be very rude towards us. Another person in the pub asked him if he is in a bad mood and he replied very loudly depends who I’m serving and we felt this was aimed towards us. Finally, asked for the bill from a waitress who took 30 minutes to bring then I had to approach the man again to bring it.
It was an uncomfortable experience and gutted that it happened as we have heard so many good things

Date of visit: August 2021
2  Thank A1630LUelliep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.