We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A great way to spend a few hours

Took a half day coastal trip with Oli - party of mixed ability, good assesment of skills by guide... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
U8679HEmartinl
Superb afternoon on the water

We had a fantastic afternoon on the sea on Saturday. We felt safe secure and very well looked after... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Bronygan
,
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Read all 87 reviews
  
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
86
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
86
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2021

What a fantastic experience! We booked the 2 day introduction to sea kayaking course as we've both done some paddling on rivers, but never really ventured out into the wild, open sea.

Ollie was our instructor and what a star he was. He explained everything extremely clearly and made us feel really confident when we left the safe shelter of the Otter estuary at Budleigh and headed out to sea on day 1. He spent time with each of us as we paddled along the coast to Ladram and beyond, stopping us all every now and again to have a team chat and to help improve our paddling prowess. We picked up some more advanced skills on day 2 in Torbay and by the end of the day we definitely felt that the course had exceeded our expectations and that we now have the confidence and knowledge to safely plan further sea kayaking trips. We'll definitely be booking on to the intermediate course in 2022 and would highly recommend the introductory course.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank mikepgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2021

We did a half day sea kayaking trip and went along the Jurassic Coast to a beach only accessible from the sea. Our guide, Ollie, was excellent, set up a little fire and toasted some marshmallows before we headed back.
We were fortunate to have lovely weather but he came prepared with cagools for those that needed them and recommendations on what to wear. He was then very patient when we ran back to the car park to change a few items!! We were given information beforehand so had options in the car.
A fun afternoon. Paddling was enjoyable and good weather a bonus. Ollie was informative and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as a great half day out .

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank RFLandau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2021

We had a great relaxed paddle with Ian in the estuary. He kept us informed of where we would meet beforehand as the sea kayaking is dependent on the weather. The whole experience was friendly and informative. We saw lots of wild fowl and the fire roasted marshmallows were a nice touch. Thank you for a fun morning on the river.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank sarah13579p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2021

We booked a 2 day introductory sea kayaking course and were lucky enough to get a full 2 days with just us and Dave our guide. First day on the canal to check our skills. Lovely trip up the canal and back with a lunch stop by the harbour. I was having problems with steering my kayak and Dave realised I needed a LV for the next day which was spot on! The next day out to sea- what an amazing day. Paddled along the coast in wetsuits. Learnt how to get back in the boat and how to rescue each other. Husband much more confident so learnt how to roll- definitely not something I wanted to try! We had lovely weather. Dave was a great coach and leader. Easy to get on with and always checking we were ok and comfortable with the pace. Leant a lot and will be trying more advanced conditions when we get the chance,

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank RuthB467
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2021

Great afternoon out with Ian on the estuary! We couldn’t go on the sea as the waves were a bit rough, but still had a brilliant time kayaking past Topsham and back up the canal. Very picturesque surroundings and the half day was the perfect amount of time out for our group with little prior experience. Would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank ojrobinson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews