We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”
Review of The Coffee House

The Coffee House
Ranked #40 of 111 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$18
Cuisines: British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Spacious, friendly, licensed restaurant, featuring a relaxing corner sofa'd area with toys for the kids to keep them occupied while you chat! Serving locally roasted coffee, speciality teas, English breakfasts, a variety of home-cooked daily specials & other main meals & snacks with lots of GLUTEN-FREE options,including the traditional Devonshire cream tea with a choice of locally-made scones, thick clotted cream & home-made Strawberry jam! Outside seating available.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First, visit a cash machine as they don’t take card payments, but it’s worth it!

Very friendly staff, very obliging with food requests, perfectly prepared food, really good coffee. Slight delay to one dish, why? To make sure it was perfect for us, went all out to make the visit a pleasant and enjoyable one, family has already asked to come back and we will be!

Thank Spearmint3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Chose this cafe to have a coffee out of the rain. Nice pleasant staff and a nice selection of eats available.

Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018

We spent several hours looking around this lovely Brixham fishing harbour, getting a call from our wives telling us about this restaurant.
A wonderful range of Gluten Free options on the menu, confident staff knowing what is required for those with the Coeliac condition. I had the home made vegetable soup, thick and hot, lovely flavour with a gluten free roll. The G/F lemon drizzle care was to die for washed down with a Cappuccino, well worth a visit very reasonable prices.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fermentingtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Thanks, Tom, I'm really glad you enjoyed your meal, one of the first things a new member of staff is taught is the importance of avoiding cross-contamination especially regarding our GF items. I'm glad you felt safe in our hands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

As title suggests this place is great
I stopped here for breakfast
Food was great staff friendly and prices good
When I’m back in the area in March I will definitely be back for my breakfast before a walk on the breakwater
Keep up the good work

Thank paul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Thank you, Paul!
See you in March...........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2017

We had a light lunch of their home made soup which was really nice. Best I have had for a long time. The staff were attentive but there were no credit card facilities. Loo upstairs which might not suit all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

I'm glad you enjoyed your soup, Bill, not a lot I can do about the loo, I'm afraid & there are two cash points on the doorstep & the more I can recycle cash (wages, suppliers) the lower my bank charges, which means lower prices for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee House also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing