We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveler rating
156
195
82
31
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
195
82
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews refurbished room sea view opposite the beach seaside hotel small lift evening meal family room car park hotel pool sea front town centre lovely bathroom small pool single room lovely hotel bus stop couple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Rooms were clean and tidy and had been recently decorated, circulation area dated as was the cavernous dinning space.
Staff friendly and polite and eager to please.
Lovely views across the bay from front of hotel.
Breakfast good quality and quantity.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ttamttam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is huge! It has lots of lovely lounge and coffee rooms with a coffee area looking out onto the sea. Due to cancelled flights we actually stayed in two different rooms at The Ommaroo and both were lovely. The second one however, was a superior double and it had a beach front balcony. It was lush! The breakfast was delicious but quite pricey if you don’t include it in the room rate. The in room facilities were high standard. The rooms were clean. There is a lovely garden and an outdoor pool - not that we used it. It’s a 15 minute walk from the square (with main bus station) and on the number one bus route. We got the number 15 bus to and from the airport. Really easy. Helpful staff. Great hotel. Not child friendly which really suited us, but important for families to be aware.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank jdoelpeach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INS, General Manager at Ommaroo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Dear Jenny D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

It is always very pleasing to read such positive comments regarding rooms, Staff and breakfast.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you to The Ommaroo again in the future.

I was intrigued to read your comment regarding the hotel's suitability for children and wondered if you would mind if I contacted you directly ?

My email is ian@ommaroohotel.com If you are happy to do so please provide a contact number so that I can give you a call.

Kind Regards
Ian Stephenson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Our first visit to Jersey (which we loved) and chose St Helier as a base because it was well connected and handy for the ferry. Loved the look of the Ommaroo with it’s ornate balconies. We were in room 25 which had a great view, was nice and spacious with a huge bed and bathroom. There was traffic noise, but that’s the down side of a town hotel I guess. Didn’t worry us at all. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, the room was made over very well and in good time if we returned later that morning.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank G5BOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2018

This was our second stay at the ommaroo, we had a few glitches with noise and poor fitting non working windows on our first trip but thought we would give it another chance, we really wished we hadn't wasted our money.
On arrival we where told the lift was out of order so our cases would need to be carried up to our room, although we where helped with one of our cases i had to carry the other up 4 flights of stairs, the lift remained out of order for our whole stay and we had to struggle back down with our cases on departure day.
Upon entering the room it looked clean and tidy but to our dismay the windows in this room didn't work or fit properly, some did not undo the doors to the balcony you had to lift and shove hard to shut. in the bathroom there where rust fitting some coming of the walls, there where personal hairs still in the bath and the extractor fan was very noisy.
Throughout our stay there was loud noise most nights and at all hours of the morning from the staff quarters above us, when leaving our room there was a horrible smell (a cross between damp dog & Fish) all the way down the stairs.
The free wifi keeps directing you to the ommaroo facebook page which is very annoying
Now the good points, the breakfast is very nice with lots of choice, the evening meal we had was very nice.
we found most of the staff polite , friendly & helpful.
Unfortunately upon checking out we wasn't even asked how our stay was, we filled out one of the comment forms pointing out the issues we had experienced but have yet to receive any reply about a month after our return home, i guess the management either doesn't care or our form got lost in a bin somewhere.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr-Cheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INS, General Manager at Ommaroo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Dre-Cheeks,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was very concerned to read that you were less than happy with your stay.

It is true that the lift was out of action for some time, our contractors were awaiting parts for some considerable time.

Thankfully this issue has now been resolved and I can only apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Incidentally a porter is always on duty at the Ommaroo and happy to assist with luggage when requested.

I note your comments regarding housekeeping and have discussed them with the head housekeeper who has taken the appropriate steps to ensure a similar slip in standards does not occur again.

Your comments regarding noise from other rooms has also been investigated and action taken.

On a more positive note it was pleasing to read your positive remarks regarding the friendliness of the staff you encountered.

Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2018

This hotel was ok but we didn't feel as welcome as we have been in other hotels in the area. Entertainment in the evenings was a bit 'dated' and although the breakfast was lovely we didn't dine in in the evenings due to the cost. Sorry but this hotel was just not our 'cup of tea'. Also staff did not seem to understand when we had a query.

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank Ilovecats66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews