We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
124
107
33
18
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
107
33
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cumberland river view of the river farmers market downtown clarksville downtown restaurants executive level black horse seventh floor austin peay walking distance k cups bed was very comfortable the location is perfect indoor pool state university nice hotel visit family
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Arrived at hotel after a long travel noticed the building looked tired with black stains near each room under windows which were foggy with condensation. At the entry dying evergreens. No big deal. Upon entering the lobby noticed a musty smell, still willing to give it a try. The room was a huge disappointment. The smell of deodorizer was very thick almost to heavy to sleep in the room. The windows were filthy inside and out. I mean how much effort does it take to grab some windex? The carpet was old and bumpy with spots here and there. TV didn't work. The strange coverlet on the bed made for a miserable nights sleep as it felt very abrasive almost like sleeping with a sheet of sandpaper. The lamps and room decor total 80's. I felt I was charged way too much for this room. On a positive note it was quite. Would not have done me any good had I wanted a view of the river. The windows were too dirty to see much of anything.

Room tip: 2nd floor was quite
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qaina, Front Office Manager at Riverview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Donna,

Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve the overall guest experience at our hotel and your review does just that. We sincerely apologize for any shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2018

This was my third stay at the Riverview in the last six years. The location is excellent, with an easy , though uphill, walk to the business district. We arrived three hours before the official 3pm check-in time, and the young woman at the front desk went above and beyond the call of duty to find us a clean room. On the down side, what would have been an excellent view of the river was almost impossible to see because the double-pane window was filled with condensation and almost completely obscured. The A/C unit below it is probably to blame, and it was definitely to blame for waking me up several times each night. One morning we left the room at 12:00 pm and returned at 5pm to find that we had not received maid service. There was a card on the dresser with a box checked that a "do not disturb" sign was on the door at 2pm. That simply wasn't true. The hot items in the complimentary breakfast were below par, and not particularly hot.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TBearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qaina, Front Office Manager at Riverview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you so very much for your review as it is greatly appreciated. We send sincere apologies on the shortcomings you experienced during your most recent stay with us. We are always looking for ways to improve upon to ensure our guests always receive the most satisfactory stay possible and your review does just that. Again we send our sincere apologies and are working diligently to fix the issues you experienced. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2018

The location, towering over the river, is great both for the views and for its proximity to a nice assortment of food and drink options as well as shopping downtown. As others have mentioned, the plentiful free parking, friendly staff, and easy check-in and check-out are also great. The room was large and the fridge and microwave were welcome amenities. All this would have rated an "excellent" but for the run-down condition of the property and the fact that the views of the river from my sixth-floor room were obscured by condensation between the two panes of the windows. The breakfast was also rather sad, but a saving grace was the Keurig coffee maker in the room with above-average coffee in the pods and the fridge for bringing my own yogurt.

Room tip: River-side rooms have views (though partially obscured). Elevators are fast, so high is good.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbdancer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qaina, Front Office Manager at Riverview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Randy,

Thank you for your review as it is greatly appreciated. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the offerings of our downtown location. We are always looking for ways to improve and your feedback has provided us with detailed information as to how we can improve. Again, we thank you for this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Very clean and very satisfied. My only complaint was the breakfast not so good. I was very happy about how clean my room was. The housekeeping staff is excellent. I will definitely come back to this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cwandrea45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qaina, Front Office Manager at Riverview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

We thank you for your review and are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to hear some more feedback from you regarding the breakfast and what you feel we could've done differently. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

The Good: great location downtown on the river. Free parking on site with plenty of spaces. Easy check-in. Free WiFi. Friendly employees. Room temperature was completely controllable. Fast elevators. The bad: breakfast. It was r e a l l y bad. No bananas, but cereal available. The only bread was 2 pieces of stale white bread, 2 stale English muffins and half a bagel. No pastries; no donuts. Scrambled eggs were too dry to eat. We went 20 minutes after breakfast started, too. Styrofoam plates. Beds were hard. The Ugly: sheet had a fresh blood stain near the pillows. Obviously nobody changed the sheets from the last guest. Hair on shower wall. Yuck. I really like this hotel. They must fix the housekeeping issue and breakfast. Everything else is exceptional.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Coff33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qaina, Front Office Manager at Riverview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thank you for your review as it is greatly appreciated. We send sincere apologies regarding the unfortunate experience you had during your most recent stay with us. This is definitely not how we conduct business and is not ways that we want our hotel to be represented. This information has been passed forward to all departments and your feedback is being implemented in our current training endeavors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews