We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Read House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Dwell Hotel(Chattanooga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Chattanoogan(Chattanooga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,623)
Filter reviews
1,623 results
Traveler rating
546
526
279
158
114
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
526
279
158
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelvalet parkingporter's steakhousevalet servicejunior suitehistoric feelbeautiful lobbydowntown chattanoogaper daybroad streetsitting areafree shuttlefitness centeran older hotelindoor poolchoo choostarbucks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,623 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The old place was very nastalgic! Quite beautiful, I love old stuff. That's where the good ended. First off their advertisements say they have parking on then premises, that part is only a half truth. When we got there after reservations had been made, they had neglected to tell us that we WOULD BE CHARGED $15.00/day to park in their parking deck or we could park on the street at nite for free after a certain time. What a racket they are running here! You would think for the usual fees somewhere around $200/nite you would get to park in their deck at no extra charge. The second catastrophe is that many rooms on each floor are tied together on the same AC rooftop units. It was march & we was so hot the first nite, that we had to go buy a fan the next day from Walmart. It help turn the next few days from humid & misurable to humid & not as misurable. The AC was working fine. But it just didn't have enough airflow to overcome the intense heat. The windows are sealed so there is no relief. We ran into others on our floor who where experiencing the same problems. I'm assuming the other floors where built the same way. You would think they would refund some of our money for our less than desirable experience, but when we complained, they just blew us off kindly & kept our whole $800+. No free nites, nothing. Hope they are enjoying our $800.00 to help pay for their remodel!!! How misleading this whole experience was for us. Just be aware before you book, HOTELS are notorious for misrepresenting their services & keeping your money. Our experiences have been so bad at so many motel chains, that we bought a travel trailer & now stay in state parks now. They've never disappointed us yet! Happy campers now. :)

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is great, can’t wait to see the new lobby and rooms when the renovations are complete. The valet team was outstanding each time we needed our car! Great to work with, and made our trip even more enjoyable.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank DiK1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim B, Manager at The Read House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 star review! Our valet employees do a fantastic job and are always trying to give great service. We are very excited about our renovation, it will make us the nicest hotel in Chattanooga. We look forward to showing you our new hotel later this summer.

Sincerely,

JIm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed the area and the hotel. Logan the Valet (3/24/2018) kept this from being a 4 star review. My first night, I was completely unimpressed with the valet service. Logan totally redeemed the experience with his courtesy and professionalism. Definitely a quality employee!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank smarshallchavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim B, Manager at The Read House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 star review! We love to hear great comments on our service. I will let him know you were impressed with him. We look forWARD TO YOUR NEXT VISIT.

Sincerely,

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

Yes - undergoing reno. No - not that bad. Decent. Historic. Close to everything downtown which btw is where you HAVE to stay when visiting Chattanooga. No restaurant or bar. There is a pool. And both of these guys stayed here in the 70s.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank TennFLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim B, Manager at The Read House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Yes we are in the middle of a 25 million dollar renovation which will include a new upscale Chophouse and a new lobby lounge and Billiard room. The hotel is set in the middle of downtown and is next to a Carta free shuttle stop that takes you to several locations in town. The Read House will be the talk of the town later this summer when we introduce our new product. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018 via mobile

They were great and accommodating to us the whole trip. I can’t wait to stay there once they get the new rooms finished! Valet, front desk, everyone is so nice and helpful and friendly. I can’t wait to come back. They let us check out one night early and refunded us the money for one of the nights because we had a close friend go into labor and we wanted to head home to be there for the birth.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Macyleighh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim B, Manager at The Read House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Thank you or your 5 star review! We love to hear great comments on our staff. The hotel is in the middle of a 25 million dollar renovation that will bring the Read House to be the finest Hotel in the city. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews