We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Town, Best Around”
Review of Cafe Brule

Cafe Brule
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Vermillion
Cuisines: American, French
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Cafe Brule is the best restaurant in the Vermillion/Yankton area by far. It has everything you would want. Breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is open 7 days a week. It is locally owned, has a very happy and well trained staff and has a real chef. We ate there twice on our recent stay. It has very high quality, chef inspired food, but at very cheap prices. I do not know why anyone would eat anywhere else in town. There is a full coffee bar (with real baristias), full wine menu, hot teas, smoothies, beer and even mead. They have a very diverse menu covering basic comfort food to steaks to seafood. Some really interesting appetizers. The menu is great, but the dessert list is amazing. Tons of homemade muffins, cakes, cheese cake, cookies, scones, macaroons and everything else. The food was amazing but the dessert were mind boggling. Staff was very helpful and clearly knew what was the best everything to order. Price is much cheaper then any chain restaurant and the quality is at least 3 times better. This is clearly a local hangout too, judging by the scores of people coming in for coffee to go while we were there.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nicholass106
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 167 of 217 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here because it was rated so well on TA. We were not disappointed. Service was very attentive. We enjoyed some of the home cooking dishes although much of the menu looked good. It was a very diverse menu so I would recommend it whatever your mood. The chocolate eclair was decadent and big enough to share for dessert!

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle245248
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Came here based on a friend who had been here, very nice. Had a window sit. Nice wine and beer selection and the menu has a lot to choice from. Staff was friendly and quick.. We had the french onion soup and small pizza. Good location on the main street. Leave your car parked and walk around the area after lunch to stretch before to continue your travels.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Baba-Kahawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were on a motorcycle trip and stopped in Vermillion for lunch. We came to Cafe Brule based on Trip Adviser reviews and were not disappointed. There was a really nice variety of menu items to choose from, and both of our selections surpassed our expectations. Service was prompt and friendly, and serving sizes were generous. We'll be back next time we're in town, but we'll plan to save room for the fantastic-looking cupcakes we saw in the display case!

Thank kiloecho68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We walked in and the service was great for a place so packed. They are definitely not lacking in menu choices. The salmon I ordered was overcooked. That would be my only complaint. Desserts were yummy and the coffee was real. We went back there the next morning just for the coffee and wished we had breakfast there as well as it looked much better than what we had at the hotel

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank squidgeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Brule also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Brule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.