We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Segway of Hilton Head
Ranked #7 of 89 Tours in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Segway Tours of Hilton Head Island: Two tours: Honey Horn Plantation: Travel through the pristine plantation, traversing wooden boardwalks over the saltmarsh, winding through a Live Oak forest draped in Spanish moss, while catching a glimpse at historic Marsh Tacky horses. Designed specifically for those who don't want to enjoy the outdoor in a quiet environment away from the dense tourist population and away from busy streets and hotels. Honey Horn is a historic 70-acre plantation that offers families or groups, including those with either young children or seniorly seniors who want a safe environment away from the confusion. Ride and feel the breeze. Tropical Pathway Tours One of the most popular tours on the island, the Tropical Pathway tour takes guests through the best pathways on the beautiful south end of the island. This is a moderate to fast-paced tour down the major bike trails, crossing wooden boardwalks and winding through natural pathways near Sea Pines and through Coligny Beach area. Because this is more of a "ride" than a tour, this activity appeals those that want to get going on their Segway and ride with a breeze in their face!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The segway tour was just alright for my family. We went along the eco tour and were under the impression that we would be touring more of the island. Unfortunately we would travel only a few feet then discuss the plants that are native to the island and Hilton Head's history - which is fine if you're into that. However, I would not recommend this for people who are interested in riding a segway as the area is just not big enough for an enjoyable segway experience. If you are more interested in the history, this tour may be perfect for you. This tour is good for younger kids and first time segway riders as there are no busy streets and you are in a small enclosed space.

Thank 553mattv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, General Manager at Segway of Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear the Eco Tour at The Coastal Discovery Museum was not the tour for your group. We would suggest one of our Pathway Tours if you prefer a little faster paced, less narrated tour. We hope on your next visit to Hilton Head Island, you will give one of the Pathway tours a try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"honey horn"
in 65 reviews
"eco tour"
in 56 reviews
"guide john"
in 14 reviews
"fun tour"
in 13 reviews
"longer tour"
in 7 reviews
"great teacher"
in 10 reviews
"great ride"
in 9 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 22 reviews
"minute tour"
in 6 reviews
"jarvis creek"
in 5 reviews
"coastal discovery museum"
in 13 reviews
"took pictures"
in 8 reviews
"great activity"
in 8 reviews
"whole family"
in 16 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 6 reviews
"highly recommend this activity"
in 5 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 6 reviews
Filter

20 - 24 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been on many Segway tours across the country and the historical aspect of the tour was great. Doc was very helpful in answering questions that the group had on different attractions.

Thank Klap65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, General Manager at Segway of Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow! Happy to hear that Segway tour number 7 was great. We appreciate your feedback on the tour, and especially your guide. Hope you will ride with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

John was a fantastic host for our Segway tour of Hilton Head Island. He was very knowledgeable about the segways and very helpful to the new riders in our group. He made the tour fun and also told us interesting things about the island.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lovetoroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, General Manager at Segway of Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad to hear your Segway Tour was not only fun but informational as well. We appreciate your feedback, especially on your guide. Hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Hilton Head Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Segway tour was a perfect ending to our day. John was a great tour guide and we had a lot of fun. Felt very safe.Hilton head is so beautiful and we feel like we saw much of the Coligny path. Can’t wait to come back to Hilton head and do it again.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, General Manager at Segway of Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We always appreciate feedback from our guests on their recent tour and guide. We are fortunate to have the best guides on the island! We look forward to you riding with us again on your next visit to Hilton Head Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Elizabeth did a great job for safety and reviewing the Segways before we began. She took the time for the newbie in our group to understand how to operate the Segway which was helpful since the traffic in the area was very heavy. If you want to experience a Segway, this is a perfect tour for first time users since it was a lot of driving the Segway without a ton of tourist stops. The time went quickly since you were on bike paths mostly, allowing you to get comfortable with using the Segway.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly S, General Manager at Segway of Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank-you for spending the time to tell us about your recent Pathway Tour as well as your guide. We love to hear from our guests. The Pathway Tour is a great way to spend more time riding the Segway with fewer stops and less narration. Hope you will ride with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segway of Hilton Head also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Segway of Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing