We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regatta Inn(Folly Beach)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tides Folly Beach(Folly Beach)(Great Value!)
US$309
US$269
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$265
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 07/29
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Elliott House Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$159
Elliott House Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/25
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$143
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveler rating
481
64
19
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
481
64
19
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshemingway roomfolly punchscreened in porchbreakfast and happy hourhot tubgolf cart shuttlebed and breakfasttaco boypacific roomour honeymoonbottle of champagneb and bgas fireplacewithin walking distancebreakfast was deliciousshort walk to the beachlarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Once a month my fiance' and I are fortunate enough to stay on Folly beach for a little staycation. Waters Edge never fail to meet expectations. All the rooms are eclectic in motifs...in a good way.

Staff is always friendly and knowledgeable.

Happy hour and Morning Breakfast great as well. (we have not tried the breakfast but I can tell it is awesome). Most importantly the cookie jar and milk is available 24/7.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rossthecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thank you rossthecook for taking the time to review our Inn. It is wonderful that you have the opportunity to enjoy a monthly "stay-cation" soaking up Folly Beach! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed all of your stays with us! It is also great that you have found our staff to be friendly throughout your times with us and you have endulged in happy hour and fresh cookies! You will have to try breakfast next time! We hope to see you two again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Nice room, amenities are enjoyable, quiet location in a busy beach community. Took full advantage of the hot tub, and happy hour was great. I gave it 4 stars, but would perhaps give it 5, except for the inconsistency in how the staff performed. I realize that "good help is hard to find" but some of the time during our stay we found ourselves depending on the performance of someone who seemed to find the computer more important than the guests!
I don't want to emphasize the negative, though - I enthusiastically recommend the Water's Edge Inn, with the caveat that you might experience the same type of inconsistent service.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an upstairs room, with a screen porch.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Thank you drmlvr for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We are thrilled that you indulged in our complimentary happy hour and had the opportunity to relax in our outdoor hot tub. Thank you for noting the inconsistencies in our front desk staff. The culture of an operation is vital to the overall guest experience and we do apologize that it didn't fully meet your expectations. We will certainly address the team and stress the importance behind being attentive and responsive to all of our guests. We hope you will come visit us again and will gladly extend a 10% discount to our valued return guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 June 2016

My husband booked our stay at this incredibly charming, romantic inn for the last night of our honeymoon after visiting downtown Charleston earlier that week. We loved the Water's Edge Inn from the moment we arrived! We were greeted with glasses of the delicious "World Famous Folly Punch" and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. Talk about Southern hospitality! They also offer a complimentary daily happy hour serving wine, beer, tasty snacks (they had pimento cheese sliders when we were there - yum!), and more of that incredible punch! As if that wasn't already lovely enough, my husband and I returned from a day at the beach to find a very nice surprise - a bottle of champagne awaiting us in celebration of our honeymoon! They go above and beyond to take care of their guests and make you feel extra welcome!

We stayed in The Caribbean Room, which was absolutely adorable! We really enjoyed having both a walk-in shower and a soaking tub! The private balcony is the ideal place to enjoy a quiet cup of morning coffee or unwind with a glass of wine after a day at the beach. The beautiful and super comfy canopy bed was the icing on the cake!

The Inn is a quick walk away from the beach and the main restaurant/shopping district, but they also provide a complimentary golf cart shuttle if you don't feel like walking. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The Water's Edge Inn is THE place to stay if you are planning a trip to Folly Beach. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We loved our stay in The Caribbean on the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

Thank you Juliana T for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. We are honored that you chose to spend the last night of your honeymoon with us! It is wonderful that you got to experience downtown Charleston and spend the last day of your trip relaxing with us on the beach! We are thrilled to hear that you were warmly greeted at check in and were continued to be impressed by our happy hour. Our "World Famous Folly Punch" always hits the spot after a hot day on the beach! We are glad that you also enjoyed the amenities of The Caribbean room and found it to be very relaxing. We do hope that you can return to stay with us again soon! We always extend a 10% discount for all return guests and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Twelve of us rented two villas for a family wedding, villas 14 and 15. What a stay! The villas are beautiful!! They are fully equipped and decorated so lovely! They are in a great location and everyone there was so friendly. We are looking forward to another visit soon! Absolutely loved it!

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank Kristiw67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Thank you Kristiw67 for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you were impressed by the accommodations provided in our Villas. It is wonderful that you were also taken care of by our friendly staff. We extend 10% off for all of our return guests and we do hope that you can return again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed at the waters edge inn . What a great hidden gem . The amenities were perfect for us ( especially the pool ) . The villa itself was beautiful , done up with great taste . I only wish we stayed longer so I could enjoyed it more , but given its great location blocks from restaurants and the beach - it was hard to stay inside . Next time I'll book an extra few days . Thank you waters edge .

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
Thank jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Thank you jamie m for taking the time out of your day to write a review of our Inn. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is wonderful that you appreciated the details of the Inn and the great location. We offer a 10% discount for all of our return guests and we hope you can come and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews