We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like a local”
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2016

Stayed in a villa with family and everyone had a blast. The four year old was entertained, the teenage girls were kept busy, and dad was still able to relax!!! The staff made the experience that much more delightful by being laid back and attentive at all times. I felt like part of the community at the breakfast and happy hour. Short walk to the beach allows you to skip the stressful parking dilemma on the island. Will totally be back!!!

Room Tip: Villa 15 is beautifully decorated and has all the modern amenities you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Thank you Richard B for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Villa and our great location to the center of town. It is wonderful to hear that the staff made you guys feel like Folly Beach locals! We hope you can return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 560 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2016

Once a month my fiance' and I are fortunate enough to stay on Folly beach for a little staycation. Waters Edge never fail to meet expectations. All the rooms are eclectic in motifs...in a good way.

Staff is always friendly and knowledgeable.

Happy hour and Morning Breakfast great as well. (we have not tried the breakfast but I can tell it is awesome). Most importantly the cookie jar and milk is available 24/7.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rossthecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

Thank you rossthecook for taking the time to review our Inn. It is wonderful that you have the opportunity to enjoy a monthly "stay-cation" soaking up Folly Beach! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed all of your stays with us! It is also great that you have found our staff to be friendly throughout your times with us and you have endulged in happy hour and fresh cookies! You will have to try breakfast next time! We hope to see you two again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2016

Nice room, amenities are enjoyable, quiet location in a busy beach community. Took full advantage of the hot tub, and happy hour was great. I gave it 4 stars, but would perhaps give it 5, except for the inconsistency in how the staff performed. I realize that "good help is hard to find" but some of the time during our stay we found ourselves depending on the performance of someone who seemed to find the computer more important than the guests!
I don't want to emphasize the negative, though - I enthusiastically recommend the Water's Edge Inn, with the caveat that you might experience the same type of inconsistent service.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an upstairs room, with a screen porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2016

Thank you drmlvr for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We are thrilled that you indulged in our complimentary happy hour and had the opportunity to relax in our outdoor hot tub. Thank you for noting the inconsistencies in our front desk staff. The culture of an operation is vital to the overall guest experience and we do apologize that it didn't fully meet your expectations. We will certainly address the team and stress the importance behind being attentive and responsive to all of our guests. We hope you will come visit us again and will gladly extend a 10% discount to our valued return guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2016

My husband booked our stay at this incredibly charming, romantic inn for the last night of our honeymoon after visiting downtown Charleston earlier that week. We loved the Water's Edge Inn from the moment we arrived! We were greeted with glasses of the delicious "World Famous Folly Punch" and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. Talk about Southern hospitality! They also offer a complimentary daily happy hour serving wine, beer, tasty snacks (they had pimento cheese sliders when we were there - yum!), and more of that incredible punch! As if that wasn't already lovely enough, my husband and I returned from a day at the beach to find a very nice surprise - a bottle of champagne awaiting us in celebration of our honeymoon! They go above and beyond to take care of their guests and make you feel extra welcome!

We stayed in The Caribbean Room, which was absolutely adorable! We really enjoyed having both a walk-in shower and a soaking tub! The private balcony is the ideal place to enjoy a quiet cup of morning coffee or unwind with a glass of wine after a day at the beach. The beautiful and super comfy canopy bed was the icing on the cake!

The Inn is a quick walk away from the beach and the main restaurant/shopping district, but they also provide a complimentary golf cart shuttle if you don't feel like walking. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The Water's Edge Inn is THE place to stay if you are planning a trip to Folly Beach. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We loved our stay in The Caribbean on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2016

Thank you Juliana T for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. We are honored that you chose to spend the last night of your honeymoon with us! It is wonderful that you got to experience downtown Charleston and spend the last day of your trip relaxing with us on the beach! We are thrilled to hear that you were warmly greeted at check in and were continued to be impressed by our happy hour. Our "World Famous Folly Punch" always hits the spot after a hot day on the beach! We are glad that you also enjoyed the amenities of The Caribbean room and found it to be very relaxing. We do hope that you can return to stay with us again soon! We always extend a 10% discount for all return guests and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Twelve of us rented two villas for a family wedding, villas 14 and 15. What a stay! The villas are beautiful!! They are fully equipped and decorated so lovely! They are in a great location and everyone there was so friendly. We are looking forward to another visit soon! Absolutely loved it!

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank Kristiw67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Thank you Kristiw67 for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you were impressed by the accommodations provided in our Villas. It is wonderful that you were also taken care of by our friendly staff. We extend 10% off for all of our return guests and we do hope that you can return again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
0.5 km away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,377 reviews
13.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
14.0 km away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
469 reviews
15.2 km away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
16.7 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range: ₱7,950 - ₱14,381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing