We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphin tour”

Botany Bay Ecotours
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in Edisto Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The ONLY biologist-owned ecotour business on Edisto and the ACE Basin
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Guide was knowledgeable and very personable. We learned a lot about the area and even got some good history.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Jacob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edistotrips, Public Relations Manager at Botany Bay Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dolphin tour"
in 25 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 16 reviews
"eco tour"
in 17 reviews
"captain bob"
in 7 reviews
"ace basin"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful sunset"
in 5 reviews
"private tour"
in 5 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 4 reviews
"great guide"
in 4 reviews
"answering questions"
in 4 reviews
"gullah geechee"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 5 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 6 reviews
"nice boat"
in 2 reviews
"cultural history"
in 2 reviews
"tour guide was very friendly"
in 2 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 2 reviews
Filter

40 - 44 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

What a special day this was, boating across the ACE basin to Morgan's Island. Seeing wild monkeys, bobcat, bald eagles in their natural habitat was awesome. Then, having a whole pod of dolphins escort us back to the dock was the best! What an experience! Worth every penny of the cost. Meg and Bob as our guides enriched the experience with their knowledge of the local marine life.

Thank stanleywp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edistotrips, Public Relations Manager at Botany Bay Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your review and recap of the tour. It was a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Having spent many winters on Edisto, we wanted to branch out from the usual history of the sea islands. We wanted to expand beyond the Native American, Revolutionary and Civil War histories that we had studied previously and learn a bit about the Gullah Geechee culture. Miss Sarah shared a wonderful story about growing up Gullah on Edisto, and sand the dolphins into view. Peppered with Captain Bob's interesting information about the ecology that surrounds the island, we had a wonderful experience. We had dolphins circle us and show off, saw brown pelicans, coronets and egrets. Another beautiful day in Edisto!

1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edistotrips, Public Relations Manager at Botany Bay Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We are so glad you joined us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We had a great excursion with Captain Bob. Our girls (5 1/2 and 8) learned all about birds and watched a pod of dolphins up close for quite a while.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank rkmccormick75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edistotrips, Public Relations Manager at Botany Bay Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

The boat was Captained by Captain Bob who gave us a tour packed with interesting points, showing us oyster beds, giving us our bearings of river and sea location. We also met a Lovely Lady whom spoke about growing in the depression at Edisto Island, Miss Sarah sung out with her resonant Spiritual Baptist Voice, calling the Dolphins to play!
We were not disappointed in the showing,Bottle-nosed Dolphins frolicked all around our ship, swimming and jumping!
We went not sure what we were in for, but you like history, and Dolphins, bring Miss Sarah a Pepsi in the Bottle and Go!

6  Thank willing2g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botany Bay Ecotours also viewed

 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Botany Bay Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing