We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$454
US$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$284
US$224
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$239
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$399
US$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$105
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,383)
Filter reviews
2,383 results
Traveler rating
1,630
474
144
81
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,630
474
144
81
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomrooftop barart tourresident artistmilk and cookiescomplimentary sherryvendue rangemain buildingwaterfront parkfree bikessouthern breakfastno windowwine receptiongas fireplaceperfect locationqueen roomfrench quarter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,383 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am the first to admit I am picky. Negatives? Very small bathroom and not the cleanest. We brought this to the managements attention and they were very receptive. It did not, however, take care of the issue. My understanding is that they were going to look into it in greater detail after we left. I trust they have. The breakfast should have been better but it is a newish concept so it may improve over time.
Positives? The location is superb. Walked everywhere. Ate nearby and the restaurants (as most know) are wonderful. We were there for four days and did not have a meal that was not at least a B+.
The staff was top notch. Everyone, without exception, was fantastic. The bartender (Robert) was one of the best ever. Fantastic martini!! (thank you, Robert). The roof top bar was not for me (the weather was just ok) but the bar inside was just fine.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel had a really high rating, the location was fantastic and the staff friendly. The Vendue is considered one of the best hotels in Charleston, I booked a room it was nice the room was tastefully decorated and clean, one caviat if you get booked in the other property across the street some of the rooms have no windows that was a problem for me. The front desk manager did relocate me to another room but I was made to feel like I was a problem child. Overall I did like this hotel but I felt it was overrated.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has a window
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsoniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic stay at this awesome hotel. The staff is amazing, particularly the doorman/porter/all-around-helper Mark. The hotel has a very cool vibe, the breakfast is nice, the bar is beautiful, the roof-top is cool and the art is better than most museums. No need to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank redmanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel places emphasis on the art, which isn't really my scene, but it's a cute little boutique hotel in a great location in the historic French Quarter right by the water. The rooms are charming and each one is unique. And the Rooftop bar is one of the hot-spots downtown because there is lots of outside space & fresh air to enjoy with friends (although the bar does not serve frozen drinks or big variety... so the bar draw is really location and views).

Those logistics are all to the favor of the Vendue, but what really set the experience apart is the way the staff did everything possible to make their guests feel special. The individual staff members were very warm, talkative, and informative. They step up and greet you by name as they get doors for you, welcome you, ask you how your day is going and what they can do to make it better. (And I have to specifically single out Mark from the bellman staff as even more exceptional that the rest. If you have the good fortune to have Mark show you around, you are in good hands.) The staff welcomes you with champagne or mimosas. The concierges are ready from 10-6 pm to help you plan & arrange your activities. They have an artist in residence, you can watch, and an art expert to answer your questions. The experts host an art reception in the lobby bar each evening with complimentary wine and appetizers. And they put out warm cookies & milk every night at 9 pm. Plus they provide complimentary cookies and cream sherry in your room each day during evening turn-down service. (I kind of felt like I was in the "Be Our Guest" scene from Beauty & the Beast.) The front desk staff were accommodating, and the bar tenders are very helpful.

They also provided a complimentary continental breakfast in the lobby bar each morning. (Yogurt, granola, berries, cereal, croissants, English muffins, jam, coffee, juice...) It was not a big hot southern breakfast, but it was a good starter to your day, and if you wanted that big breakfast, there are plenty of venues close by where you could go for brunch. And in a world where hotels are opting not to provide coffee, but rather to sell Starbucks in the lobby, I really appreciate a hotel that will still have fresh complimentary coffee in the lobby for their guests. (And the coffee at the Vendue was delicious. Much better than Starbucks.) My biggest complaint about the Vendue was simply that the breakfast was very popular and they really don't have room in the lobby bar for everyone to find a seat... and most of the seats have very low bar-style coffee-tables... so eating isn't easy. There was one morning (around 9 am) when I had to stand in the lobby and put my coffee mug on the floor while I ate standing up. That was very frustrating. They certainly need to work on the breakfast logistics, or open the rooftop for breakfast, or also serve in their art gallery room (high-top standing tables). Or maybe if they create a buffet elsewhere, so people could eat at the bar (instead of serving from the bar). I think breakfast is a new addition, and they will work out the kinks.

And another bonus perk I didn't know about is that they have a sister property (the Tides Hotel) on Folly Beach, so you can take an Uber out to the beach and use their pool or beach chairs. I believe you'll be very happy if you stay here.

Room Tip: Many interior rooms, but not sure exterior rooms have much of a view to speak of.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Neat Hotel with some kinks to work out. Management and staff does care so speak up if there is a problem. Not all rooms are equal, even if charged the same price. I had no idea there were 2 buildings across the street from one another. We were in the second building. Breakfast, the lobby and rooftop bar were in the other. Not a great breakfast area, few places to sit but i understand this is a new offering so maybe it will improve. Excellent location.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews