We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$364/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barksdale House Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
US$254
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Andrew Pinckney Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$159
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Charleston Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$100
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashley Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$265
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ansonborough Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,466)
Filter reviews
2,466 results
Traveler rating
1,686
486
154
83
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,686
486
154
83
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomrooftop barmilk and cookiescomplimentary sherryvendue rangemain buildingwaterfront parkfree bikessouthern breakfastno windowwine receptiongas fireplaceperfect locationqueen roomsouthern hospitalityeast baywine and cheese
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 2,466 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

I am the first to admit I am picky. Negatives? Very small bathroom and not the cleanest. We brought this to the managements attention and they were very receptive. It did not, however, take care of the issue. My understanding is that they were going to look into it in greater detail after we left. I trust they have. The breakfast should have been better but it is a newish concept so it may improve over time.
Positives? The location is superb. Walked everywhere. Ate nearby and the restaurants (as most know) are wonderful. We were there for four days and did not have a meal that was not at least a B+.
The staff was top notch. Everyone, without exception, was fantastic. The bartender (Robert) was one of the best ever. Fantastic martini!! (thank you, Robert). The roof top bar was not for me (the weather was just ok) but the bar inside was just fine.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The hotel had a really high rating, the location was fantastic and the staff friendly. The Vendue is considered one of the best hotels in Charleston, I booked a room it was nice the room was tastefully decorated and clean, one caviat if you get booked in the other property across the street some of the rooms have no windows that was a problem for me. The front desk manager did relocate me to another room but I was made to feel like I was a problem child. Overall I did like this hotel but I felt it was overrated.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has a window
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelsoniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Fantastic stay at this awesome hotel. The staff is amazing, particularly the doorman/porter/all-around-helper Mark. The hotel has a very cool vibe, the breakfast is nice, the bar is beautiful, the roof-top is cool and the art is better than most museums. No need to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank redmanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The hotel places emphasis on the art, which isn't really my scene, but it's a cute little boutique hotel in a great location in the historic French Quarter right by the water. The rooms are charming and each one is unique. And the Rooftop bar is one of the hot-spots downtown because there is lots of outside space & fresh air to enjoy with friends (although the bar does not serve frozen drinks or big variety... so the bar draw is really location and views).

Those logistics are all to the favor of the Vendue, but what really set the experience apart is the way the staff did everything possible to make their guests feel special. The individual staff members were very warm, talkative, and informative. They step up and greet you by name as they get doors for you, welcome you, ask you how your day is going and what they can do to make it better. (And I have to specifically single out Mark from the bellman staff as even more exceptional that the rest. If you have the good fortune to have Mark show you around, you are in good hands.) The staff welcomes you with champagne or mimosas. The concierges are ready from 10-6 pm to help you plan & arrange your activities. They have an artist in residence, you can watch, and an art expert to answer your questions. The experts host an art reception in the lobby bar each evening with complimentary wine and appetizers. And they put out warm cookies & milk every night at 9 pm. Plus they provide complimentary cookies and cream sherry in your room each day during evening turn-down service. (I kind of felt like I was in the "Be Our Guest" scene from Beauty & the Beast.) The front desk staff were accommodating, and the bar tenders are very helpful.

They also provided a complimentary continental breakfast in the lobby bar each morning. (Yogurt, granola, berries, cereal, croissants, English muffins, jam, coffee, juice...) It was not a big hot southern breakfast, but it was a good starter to your day, and if you wanted that big breakfast, there are plenty of venues close by where you could go for brunch. And in a world where hotels are opting not to provide coffee, but rather to sell Starbucks in the lobby, I really appreciate a hotel that will still have fresh complimentary coffee in the lobby for their guests. (And the coffee at the Vendue was delicious. Much better than Starbucks.) My biggest complaint about the Vendue was simply that the breakfast was very popular and they really don't have room in the lobby bar for everyone to find a seat... and most of the seats have very low bar-style coffee-tables... so eating isn't easy. There was one morning (around 9 am) when I had to stand in the lobby and put my coffee mug on the floor while I ate standing up. That was very frustrating. They certainly need to work on the breakfast logistics, or open the rooftop for breakfast, or also serve in their art gallery room (high-top standing tables). Or maybe if they create a buffet elsewhere, so people could eat at the bar (instead of serving from the bar). I think breakfast is a new addition, and they will work out the kinks.

And another bonus perk I didn't know about is that they have a sister property (the Tides Hotel) on Folly Beach, so you can take an Uber out to the beach and use their pool or beach chairs. I believe you'll be very happy if you stay here.

Room Tip: Many interior rooms, but not sure exterior rooms have much of a view to speak of.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Neat Hotel with some kinks to work out. Management and staff does care so speak up if there is a problem. Not all rooms are equal, even if charged the same price. I had no idea there were 2 buildings across the street from one another. We were in the second building. Breakfast, the lobby and rooftop bar were in the other. Not a great breakfast area, few places to sit but i understand this is a new offering so maybe it will improve. Excellent location.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews