We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,324)
Filter reviews
3,325 results
Traveler rating
1,675
1,057
350
143
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,675
1,057
350
143
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swamp fox historic hotel king street older hotel within walking distance farmers market small bathroom beautiful lobby corner room bell staff downtown charleston southern charm perfect location bed was very comfortable parking garage fm conference
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 3,325 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Just outstanding all around .... service, professional, friendly people, great food, reasonably priced just a wonderful atmosphere for personal or business visit. We had 50 people stay at this hotel and they all travel quite a bit and to the person, they all agreed that this was a wonderful hotel as stated above.

Room Tip: restrooms were a bit small but because of the hotel being a historic facility and almost 100 years old .... you just deal with it and enjoy the rest of the facility.
Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Z8222KOrickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed everything! We're thrilled that everyone in your party was happy with the accommodations. We hope to welcome you all back in the future.

Take care,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Good location in historic district, walking distance to waterfront, friendly staff, nice old hotel with restaurant and bar, room was comfortable with huge king sized bed, sitting area and small fridge

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mmur134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. It's sounds like you enjoyed your stay, so we hope the 1-star was left in error. However, if this wasn't the case, we hope you'll give us another chance to show you our 5-star experience in the future.

All the best,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

If location is your number one priority then this is the hotel for you. I was with my daughter visiting the College of Charleston which is around the corner. Check-in was smooth and we were helped by a student of the college named: Rob who was extremely helpful and courteous. We were initially given a room behind the elevator shafts which was extremely noisy (mechanical noise) but when we asked to be moved, we were given a room with a city view. The room was nice and the bed comfortable but the bathroom was the size of a closet. We had escaped the elevator sound but we found out later in the night that we had not escaped the ice machine room's noise. Breakfast was served downstairs in a restaurant across from the Starbucks. After waiting a good 20 minutes to be seated. we actually ended up joining an extremely nice family from the Chicago area at their table since the wait for a table for two was so long. Breakfast was very average and it seemed like it was a case of too many managers (3) not enough waiters (2). Apart from the location, i might look for another alternative next time I am in Charleston.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from elevator AND ice machine and on city side
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valerie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We appreciate your feedback, Valerie. It's great to hear you enjoyed the location and attentive service, though I'm sorry for any discomfort caused by elevator and ice machine noise. As for the breakfast, we'll work harder moving forward to ensure you're taken care of as quickly as possible. Again, thank you for letting us know about your visit, because this helps us to be the best we can be for the future.

All the best,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Recently our vehicle broke down and we stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel and people were fantastic, we will definitely stay here from now on during our travels. Thanks again for everything, it is much appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

You're very welcome, Scott. We're happy we could help out in your time of need, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Take care,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Great venue, great service, great time. Waliking distance to just about anything you want to see or do in Charleston. Awesome breakfast buffet. Front desk very friendly and helpful. Food at the wedding was over the top.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank ewinder0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We're delighted you enjoyed everything from the location to the friendly service! I hope you make it back for another visit the next time you're in Charleston.

Take care,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews