We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Way to Spend a Day

We had a great day crosssing from Port Stephens, Nelson's Bay, to Tea Gardens. The boat is old and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
dasmo
,
Wales
Saw dolphins while travelling on the ferry

The ferry was very old and it takes an hour to get from Nelson Bay to Tea Gardens or visa versa... read more

Reviewed 6 November 2018
Tracey H
,
Newcastle, Australia
Read all 141 reviews
  
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
54
46
16
7
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
46
16
7
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub tea garden trip takes port stephens hawks nest relaxing cruise lovely trip takes about an hour great commentary saw dolphins two hours fish chips pod of dolphins whale watching staff were friendly annie skipper
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Really enjoyed our trip over to Tea Gardens to see friends for lunch (at the Boathouse). The ferry staff were delightful. Book ahead if you can, as you get priority boarding! Saw plenty of dolphins and they slowed down so you could get a good look and take photos.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Helen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 April 2018

We went on this ferry ride to Tea Gardens. It was a beautiful day and the trip there and back was a wonderful experience, the waters were calm and we spotted a number of dolphins - the skipper kindly slowed for photos and a closer look - Our stay in Tea Gardens was approx. two hours and was very pleasant. The return trip was equally enjoyable and the whole trip made for a very nice day out. The ferry we had was vintage and perfect for the trip.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Beryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Having taken this cruise previously, we had expected a replica trip, nut unfortunately this was not to be. Because there were so many passengers, we had to travel on a larger ferry. Personally, I felt that this beautiful old tub should have been retired some time ago. At 85 years old, it shakes and shudders its was across the bay, making the trip not quite so relaxing as perhaps it should have been. However, the staff were friendly and ever so knowledgeable about local and historical items of interest. Our return trip was made much more pleasant by the pod of dolphins playing beside the ferry.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We booked a return trip to the Tea Gardens through Port Stephens Ferry Service. After reading that these trips are mostly empty, we were pleasantly surprised to see the ferry full. Even so, it was quite enjoyable. The staff looked after everyone and provided historical insights of the bay and its surrounding areas.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank deepsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 February 2018

What a lovely way to see the Bay and it's surrounds. Such a pleasant trip. Would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a nice day out.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank Joansey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews