We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure!”

Inner Light Tearooms
Ranked #6 of 92 Restaurants in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Inner Light Tea Rooms, you will "Come for the View, Stay for the Food!" Our Cafe has spectacular panoramic views of Port Stephens. Breakfast and lunch You can enjoy breakfast, lunch, morning or afternoon tea while enjoying the magnificent view. We are open 7 days a week for morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea. We are open from 10.00am to 4.00pm weekdays and 9.00am to 4.00pm on Saturday and Sunday. During school holiday periods we are open 7 days from 9.00am to 4.00pm. Order and pay inside. Cash or EFTPOS.
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Wow! what a great view, very relaxing environment to enjoy morning tea. Sensational coffee about a 9 out of 10 and the carrot cake was lovely and fresh. Nice and efficient service to.

Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry H, Owner at Inner Light Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you Craig for such a great review!!
Yes it is the perfect place for great coffee and food to relax and enjoy an amazing view. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 119 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2017

I regularly take my visitors to The Bay to the inner Light for coffee. Once they take in the view the food is always greatly appreciated too. This visit we had carrot cake....very yummy and fresh not dry and stale like many places!
Sometimes it is hard to get a park and it is a pity they couldn't add a few spots. Similarly sometimes you need to wait for a table! The view is worth the wait!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elizabethramsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry H, Owner at Inner Light Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thank you Elizabeth for your great review. Hope you keep bringing your visitors to the Tearooms, its the best place to come for a view of the bay with great food and coffee!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Visit these tea rooms on a hot summer's morning. There was plenty of shade and great ocean views. Good food including a gluten free hazelnut merengue and two large scones, jam & cream. Would have preferred real cream that didn't quickly melt however. Museum, lighthouse room & gift shop all manned by helpful volunteers and worth a visit.

Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry H, Owner at Inner Light Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Thank you Tony for your great review, so glad you enjoyed your visit. The food is always great, and we do use pure cream, it just melts quickly in this hot weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2017

If you are visiting Nelson Bay, this cafe is definitely worth a visit. It is tucked away behind the lighthouse, and has the most incredible views of the water and Mount Tomaree. It seemed like only locals who were there which was great! There is outdoor seating and most are covered with umbrellas. The food was delicious, the chairs were comfy, I can't fault it! Will definitely be back when returning to beautiful Nelson Bay.

Thank brennak26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry H, Owner at Inner Light Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Thank you for your fantastic review., we really appreciate it Glad you enjoyed your visit to the Tearooms, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We visit the lighthouse every time we come to Nelson Bay. 12mths has passes & again we have had a great experience. Often service and food and vary in quality but these ladies are so consistent so again 5 stars. I would give you 6 stars because we can now take our dogs with us which is great. We all enjoyed our beautiful breakfasts - smashed avacado Yummy - Crepes delicious - big breakfast excellent and devonshire tea still the best I have had. Congratulations ladies you are doing a great job. This is a very busy place and we noticed that some sydneysiders are "not in holiday mode" when they come here. On our way into the cafe we encountered a large group that were rude and agressive because they could not "get a park up the top" & their poor behaviour continued. The ladies were lovely but ignored most of their whinging & served them professionally. Well done ladies! Great food great service and most of all great coffee with a beautiful view.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kirstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry H, Owner at Inner Light Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you Kirstin for an amazing review. I am so glad to hear you continually enjoy your stay at the Tearooms. The staff are amazing, they are friendly helpful and always polite and accommodating to the most challenging customers. Glad to see they are appreciated. Hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inner Light Tearooms also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Inner Light Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing