We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveler rating
4
2
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
2
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view great location bed reception balcony motel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 8 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We stayed in a wonderful studio apartment overlooking Dutchies beach.The apartment has been very sympathetically renovated with quite a few of the original features left which I thought was nice.Our room had a shared balcony which was very large with an outdoor setting to have afternoon drinks or your breakfast.The apartment had an updated kitchenette for getting simple meals.And the bed was really comfortable.It`s a beautiful walk along the path around the headland to Nelson Bay marina and shopping centre.The lady in reception was very helpful in where to eat,buy groceries etc

Room tip: Get one of the upstairs rooms with the balcony and view
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2017

When you enter the room you feel like entering a cellar. Small windows at the back wall, the front door has to be covered by curtains (only blackout curtains) otherwise no privacy at all. In other words you need to keep the lights on all the time. Room is sparely furnished, old TV set, no A/C. Lady at the office was not really eager to make you feel welcomed, it was 16:30 when we checked in (latest check-in time 17:00) and you got the feeling she was unhappy waiting for us, we were obviously the last guests checking in that day. Handing over the room keys, showing us the room and off she went.

Room tip: Don't stay at a ground floor room.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cubist288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

You've heard the expression 'You get what you pay for.'
At Dutchies, don't expect that much.
We arrived around 3pm Friday afternoon for our weekend away.
We found the reception open but unoccupied. Paperwork left on the counter with the room key. The paperwork had all our personal details for anyone to see who entered the reception.
The view from our balcony was great. The room itself was minimalist with only the very basic items. Only 2 of each crockery and glassware items as guests aren't allowed visitors. Do you believe that? Great view but you can't enjoy it with friends.
We asked for an iron to prepare for our night out only to be told by receptionist, Tracey, in a very smarmy tone, they don't supply irons. Great. Un-ironed clothes at a local restaurant, which, by the way, was sensational. Dutchies also doesn't have hair dryers.
The shower ran out of hot water halfway through the second shower. Shampoo and bath gel supplied were both empty bottles. So was the tissue box. Office closed so we couldn't replace them that evening.
The bed. I almost fell out once as the bed sloped to one side. Uncomfortable night.
The bathroom. Circa 1960s with the pink tiles, however, it has a reasonably new vanity.
Next afternoon, when we saw the room hadn't been serviced, asked the same receptionist if it was to be serviced only to be told in the same smarmy attitude that it wouldn't be.
Then I asked for full shampoo, bath gel and tissues as the others were empty when we arrived. Smarmy reply, 'oh really'. Receptionist then gave me a half full tissue box and shampoo etc.
Dutchies is in a great location however, it would have much more enjoyable if we could have enjoyed it with our friends.

It would appear the proprietors of Dutchies are trying to steer customers into their newer, more up-market premises, Amarna (which does have room servicing but doesn't allows visitors either. See separate reviews for Amarna and the 'Gestapo' owners.)

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank fiosraim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

We passed by this motel and were lucky that they still had vacancies. We even got a room on the higher floor with sea view from the front door which was nice. Our room was spacious and had a small kitchenette with fridge, sink and microwave. The bed was clean and comfortable. The Marina is a 10-minute walk away. I would definitely stay here again when coming back to Nelson Bay.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank NicCan136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews