We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillcrest Motor Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Best Western Fairway Motor Inn(Merimbula)(Great Value!)
US$118
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Comfort Inn Merimbula(Merimbula)(Great Value!)
US$86
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingfisher Motel(Merimbula)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Seas Motel(Merimbula)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveler rating
3
4
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
4
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastonly stayed one nightnew ownerscerealcockatoosbalconypropertyoceantownviewspool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 12 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2018

This is a standard roadside motel of classic design and standard comfort, but check the price, and then check what you are told in the name....you stumble across it right there at the top of the hill as you come into town. A view from every room. A through-breeze. A small but adequate balcony. Views of Merimbula and the ocean. Breakfast available before you go on your way. Access to both sides of the bays.

Accessing the property off the main road can be tricky if you're not heading the right direction. If you like your polished tiles and chrome, go somewhere else. This is a very decent standard roadside motel room...with a priceless view!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of Merimbula. Down the hill to the main town and beaches.
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 842brucec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

The Hillcrest Motor Inn has great views and a fantastic pool. The staff were wonderful and very accomodating.
Although the rooms were dated they were large, clean, had comfortable beds and came with all the necessary essentials included.
The introductory free breakfast was a nice touch, we wish the new owners great success and have no hesitation staying there again.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank MobbsAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Sure, it was peak Christmas season, but at more than $300 per night, this place was a rip-off. Bathroom fittings ancient and totally outdated, probably last updated in the early 80s. The included continental breakfast was a joke, you’d be unhappy after one day. The view was pretty amazing, pity the owners can’t spend some money and use some imagination to upgrade the experience.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Damof44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph G, Manager at Hillcrest Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

Thanks for that. The pricing is adjusted relating purely to demand. We still set the pricing near the bottom at any given time so even at the $300, we were among the cheapest accommodation offered in Merimbula at the time.

The pricing is kept at the lower end because we are under no illusion to what the product itself is at this stage.

We took the business over only in November so we're aware of the mountain of work ahead of us. There are a lot of changes in the pipeline but it will take time to implement everything.

Not sure why the breakfast was a joke. We offer 4 cereals, toast (wholemeal and white), 3 juices and brewed coffee. We suggest that that is equal to or better than many complimentary continental breakfasts offered in Merimbula. Thankfully most people were happy with breakfast.

Let us know your thoughts on improving the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2017

Worst thing was the shower water pressure that meant the shower was never at a good temperature requiring ducking out of the feeble water stream as it got too cold then too hot. Other evidence of lack of maintenance or updating, such as the paint peeling off the windows and balcony railing, 1980s decor (brick walls, dark wood furniture and dark curtains, old bathroom fixtures) and in our room a broken shower screen door replaced by a plastic curtain could all be overlooked as we only stayed one night and the bed was comfortable and noise levels were fine so we slept well. But not being able to have a decent shower is never acceptable.

I can understand the quandary for hotels such as this one where the economics are a challenge. No doubt they make good income for a main holiday weeks but likely are mostly empty for a lot of the year. We were surprised that this hotel had vacancies at the peak time we stayed - which suggests something is awry; perhaps the location is too far out of town or maybe the fact that it is, rightly, poorly reviewed due to the lack of updating. Merimbula town itself was jam packed with holidaymakers and traffic was jammed in the main street all day so it doesn't seem to be an area without plenty of demand for accommodations.

The continental breakfast was mediocre; coffee/tea, juice, toast or cereal only, no baked goods, hard boiled eggs or fruit on offer and a very tired dining room. The dining room balcony does have a great view but is in poor condition.

We didn't use the pool but it looked well maintained. Access is across a gravel area requiring shoes and, as the photos show, it's not a place to hang out as there are no chairs and no shade.

I would not consider staying several days at this hotel purely on the lousy shower experience which would quickly become intolerable after a while.

The building has very solid "bones" and it would be a shame to see this hotel decline further as it wont survive. Some judicious investment in plumbing and decor could turn it around.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0591TimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph G, Manager at Hillcrest Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

Thanks for the feedback. We always cringe when people raise the water pressure. It is currently the biggest issue. We agree that the building has a number of problems that need attention. Water pressure is definitely high up on the list.

We took over the business in November and have worked hard to fix as many problems as was possible before the rush. Sadly we could not address the water pressure immediately due to the cost and amount of work needed to upgrade it. It will be addressed soon though. People can deal with the retro decor and bathrooms but water issues cause genuine frustration.

We expect to commence a slow room-by-room renovation which will allow us to continue trading while conducting repairs and upgrades.

All feedback and suggestions about the upgrades are welcome so let us know what you think will provide a better service for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

First the good news. Fantastic views from the rooms. Undercover parking available. For rooms 19 to 22 right outside your door. The rooms are overdue for an update. Looks as though they haven't been touched since the 1980s. The rooms are large and the bed comfortable. The wifi didn't work while I was there. Great tv but a lot of functions didn't work without wifi. The included breakfast is just mean. Cereals and toast only.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph G, Manager at Hillcrest Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

Thanks for that, we actually appreciate all feedback. There are certainly a number of issues with the motel. You have only named but a few.

Our business took Hillcrest over in November and have been working hard to bring the place up to what we would consider a minimum specification before the holiday rush.

In saying that, the Wifi should have been up and running when you stayed with us albeit slow. The NBN will come past the motel in April which should immediately provide us with a better internet service for our guests. We consider this an important service but unfortunately Merimbula generally has poor internet so our hands are currently tied.

We are still experimenting with the breakfast service. There is the breakfast room with the beautiful views that has sat dormant for quite some time. We thought it wise to reopen it for our guests to enjoy.

The continental breakfast itself consists of 4 choices of cereal, toast (wholemeal and white), apple juice, orange juice, pineapple juice and brewed coffee. This is actually a little better than most facilities that offer breakfast with the exception of full cooked breakfast.

During your stay, we offered breakfast free to get feedback on what we could do to improve the service. Unfortunately it did not meet everyone's expectation. Thankfully most people were happy with the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews