We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chasin' Opal Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
Bluey Motel(Lightning Ridge)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wallangulla Motel(Lightning Ridge)
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Walgett Motel(Walgett)
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sonja's Bed & Breakfast(Lightning Ridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (44)
    Filter reviews
    44 results
    Traveler rating
    16
    19
    7
    1
    1
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    16
    19
    7
    1
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsthese cabinsenjoyed our stayoff street parkingstay there againgreat place to staywill visit againin townacross the roadbowling clubcafesopalsaccommodationtourloungelocalsprivacyamenities
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    7 - 12 of 44 reviews
    Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. The cabin was a good budget option. Pros included the self-catering option and quiet location. Cons included the uncomfortable beds and cleanliness. Would definitely try a different style of cabin if returning.

    Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    Thank Olivia K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 14, 2016

    We booked over the phone after looking online and the process was simple thanks to the help of Rose. The cabin was very clean and well equipped with a full kitchen, we were quite impressed. The bedding was good and it is located close to the club, shops and cafes. We would stay there again.

    • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Brett C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Sharyn M, Manager at Chasin' Opal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2017

    Glad you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to accommodate your needs. We look forward to seeing you again some time. Thanks for reviewing.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

    Clean and tidy, can be small and awkward if you have a family.... staff very friendly and helpful... definitely stay here again... only gravel here but doesn't stop all the kids running around.... laundry available for $4 per load wash and $4 to dry or there is some lines

    Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    Thank Bec G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Sharyn M, Manager at Chasin' Opal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2017

    Thanks Bec for reviewing. Hope to see you again sometime.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 21, 2016

    Cabin was clean and comfortable. Self contained with everything we needed to cater for ourselves. We were able to park directly by our door which made transferring luggage etc very easy. Beds comfortable with crisp, clean sheets. (Ladies if you have especially long hair don't plan on washing it here as the water pressure is non existent.) The water is from artesian bores and is different to town water but locals swear our water is odd!! There are a couple of good cafes for breakfast and although we did not get there we were told their is a lovely historic pub at Hebel about 65 klms away that does a great lunch with a nice drive. Worth a visit.

    • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank familymego
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Sharyn M, Manager at Chasin' Opal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2017

    Thanks familymego for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the water pressure during your stay, - it is usually fine. Thanks for being understanding.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

    We only stayed for one night, but the experience was good enough for us to return next time we’ll visit Lightning Ridge.

    We can’t speak for all cabins; ours was the Opal Cabin, which was basic, clean, compact and comfortable and represented a fair deal for $105/night. For longer stays we’d probably choose the Crystal Cabin, which seems to have a four burner cooktop. Overall though the cabin was well equipped with a good bed, a basic kitchen (no dishwasher ;)) and a well-functioning bathroom. For smokers and those hungry for fresh air or social contacts there’s a nicely sized front porch.

    Off-street parking beside the cabin is handy, especially when you’re arriving on a rainy day (as we did) and you wanna unload your car. Despite being located at the top end of one of Lightning Ridge’s main streets, the place was very quiet. Chasin’s location is quite central, offering only a short walk to town.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful, from cleaners to the reception desk. Recommended to anyone whose needs exceed those satisfied by an average motel or hotel room.

    Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    Thank isiria
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Sharyn M, Manager at Chasin' Opal Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We look forward to you visiting again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews