We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Talland Bay Hotel(Porthallow)
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bay Hotel(Coverack)
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meudon Hotel(Falmouth)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budock Vean Hotel(Mawnan Smith)
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trelawne Hotel(Mawnan Smith)
US$160
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
56
25
6
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
25
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscornish pubmusselsgreat beerreal treasurebooked a tablecobb saladunusual beersmodel boatsspecials boardthe south west coast pathan evening mealservice was friendly and efficientlandlordfalmouthdognauticalaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

The pub has a very welcoming ambiance and the staff are very friendly. They fitted our group in (ten) and the service was quite good even when our group arrived at different times. The food was good pub grub and was plentiful and tasty.
The only slight negative was that the three steaks which were ordered all came but were all not cooked as ordered but were very tasty.
I will definitely call back and hopefully the steak will be just as ordered.
There is plenty of parking just outside the pub on the beach which has an honesty box.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
62
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Went for dinner a week after they were flooded following Storm Emma. All in working order and probably the best fish and chips ever and hake on white bean stew just so simple and so delicious. Atmosphere fabulous. Great nautical paraphenalia. Staff and locals great. A real treasure.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Obviously the fact this pub was over the road from where we were staying was a massive bonus for us. It's a great traditional English pub with really good pub food. The locals are friendly and they even do take away fish and chips! You definitely need to book if you want a table of an evening.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank LeeJoMaldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We stayed as a couple in Porthallow and this pub was across from our cottage in the quaint Cornish village.

The pub is everything you would expect in a Cornish pub, could be dropped out of a film set. Amazing history on the walls , of the village and the pub itself, a beautiful connection to the sea. It was quiz night in the pub for the locals when we arrived but they accommodated us politely and made us feel welcome , so we had a lovely evening seeing the community in their local pub.

The meal we had was a set menu due to the quiz night, with an amazing number of courses that just kept coming, and were really good quality. We left incredibly full and happy and made our short 30 second walk pack to our home for the week,

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ady_JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Living just across in Falmouth, can't believe it's taken this long to discover this gem. After doing the circular walk to Nare Point, up Gillan creek and back to Porthallow, we stopped for a drink and just enquired about eating. Very accommodatingly the lady serving said that although they were full, if we liked to eat right away she could fit us in and we opted to take the chance (so often one is disappointed but menu looked promising and we thought we'd try), Both ordered mussels and these were certainly the best we have had, the sauce was rich and full-bodied and thankfully not at all salty as is often the common mistake. Served with a lovely ciabatta they were truly delicious and a really satisfying meal after the great walk we had had. We also opted for a bowl of chips which were some of the best we've tasted. Excellent choice of more unusual beers (Knill by Mouth was apparently great tasting) and, to round things off it was actually possible to taste the coffee (not the usual coloured hot water so full marks all round to this place. Great food and welcome, lovely atmosphere, busy and lively, not pretentious but great standard, obviously proud of what they do. Finally thank you to all the great staff who immediately gave a great and genuine welcome and presented a very positive and "can do" front to the business. Thanks to the chef for best mussels and that wonderful sauce. Great standard of food reasonably priced and interesting and great tasting ales, efficient and caring service, lovely girl serving at tables....all in all a real treasure of a place. Highly recommend, particularly after such an interesting and enjoyable walk. Perfect afternoon and evening and refreshing to find a pub which cares.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank JANE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews