We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shippon Saddleworth
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Oldham
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Gate Inn(Diggle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clough Manor(Denshaw)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
247Hotel(Oldham)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadoak Hotel(Ashton-under-Lyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
119
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bfull english breakfastcow shedwet roomone nightbreakfast was deliciousbreakfast roomlimited mobilitya wonderful staywalk in showerstayed longerbed was very comfortableyogurtplace to stayfriendly hoststea trayon arrival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a recent trip back to UK to visit family we booked two nights at The Shippon, what a find! Our ground floor room was furnished extremely well, the bed was very comfortable and the en suite bathroom with walk in shower was ideal. The toiletries in the bathroom and an abundant tea tray were nice touches too. Alice is a wonderful, friendly host who provides a warm welcome and serves a very good Full English breakfast. The scenery from both our room and the breakfast room made this Lancashire lass feel very homesick and I know that The Shippon will be our go to place to stay whenever we're next "up North".

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceSaddleworth, Owner at The Shippon Saddleworth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your very kind review. It was nice having you to stay with us and I hope you got home safely. I look forward to your next visit, whenever that is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018

Arrived on a snowy afternoon to find magical views across the hills. Met by Alice who showed us to our lovely cosy rooms, which were warm, clean and well equipped. Breakfast was delightful with a great choice and beautifully cooked. We will definitely be going back for another visit.

Room Tip: Freisian has amazing views and lovely big bathroom.
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceSaddleworth, Owner at The Shippon Saddleworth, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope your journey home wasn't too snowy. I look forward to seeing you agiain if the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2017

This is a lovel b and b. The bedrooms are all spacious with en suites with great showers. All the rooms were very very clean and were very warm, almost too warm and we had to turn our heating down. The bed was the most comfortable we have slept in in a hotel or bed and breakfast. The cooked breakfast was delicious. Alice, our hostess could not have been nicer or more welcoming and we so enjoyed chatting to her at breakfast.

Room Tip: All have differing views of the countryside
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceSaddleworth, Owner at The Shippon Saddleworth, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw. I am sorry I have not replied sooner. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017

Alice was an amazing hostess, very welcoming. The Shippon is immaculately kept, warm and comfortable, all rooms were amazingly clean and warm with breath-taking views. Breakfast was just the right the portion, even though the option to have more was available without extra cost was very tempting. Will definitely be visiting again. Thank you Alice

Room Tip: book early, because of the amzing service and hospitality.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceSaddleworth, Owner at The Shippon Saddleworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Thank you for your very kind review. It was nice to see you and I look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

We're just back from a lovely one night stay at this place. We had the 'Jersey' room and it was very comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was excellent and we were well looked after. If you're looking to stay somewhere in Saddleworth, for a wedding or other event, this place is excellent value for money and a bit of a gem!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank JimOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceSaddleworth, Owner at The Shippon Saddleworth, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and that you might come back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews