We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner!”
Review of The Ivy Inn

The Ivy Inn
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$37
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Old world pub with big car park set in lovely location. Perfect place to park up and refresh after a long country walk. Food prepared fresh to order.
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Me and my family came to the ivy inn because our host told us that they are dog friendly. The food was great, we had a delicious beetroot burger (even the men loved it although they always want to eat meat) We highly recommend it!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Discover792755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

My wife and I have been camping just down the road from the pub for the last week. We love Wiltshire and intend to move to Devizes next year. We wandered into the pub last Tuesday and were informed that a new chef had started that very day and was “doing his best to make a specials board on the fly! From the stick left by the previous chef” we ordered the Ottoman Mezze as we live this kind of food. The next day we spent the whole of our 15 mile walk thinking about the food we had had and we rewarded ourselves by ordering the same again. We weren’t disappointed. The staff were friendly and the food was great. The venue is beautiful. I hope this place continues to be a jewel in the dust.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank JamesZLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We had a meal here on 21st June 2018. We both wanted standard pub fare so wife had burger and chips, I had fish and chips. Frankly the best we have had in a long time, anywhere. The deserts were an absolute treat! Staff were courteous, nicely turned out and attentive. 2 large wines, 2 Ales and 2, 2 course meals for under £50, we thought quality to price ratio was exceptional. Next time we will try the more a la carte menu. Visit the website for the correct phone number.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank markpP300ZQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2018

First came here 42 years ago ....and several times since! .... The meal today was superb (sunday lunch) ... the veg sides were out of this world (there Ive said it) The only thing is that I could have done with an extra slice of the beef .... certainly a log better since the pub went "gastro" prior to the current landlord who mentioned they have been here for 3 months

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Warm friendly welcome, good beer and wine of you just want a drink.

Highlight of our visit on a Saturday evening was the exceptional quality of the cooking. As well as beautiful presentation, Ben is Masterchef material in the making, cooking pub classics to inventive and imaginative dishes all cooked to a very high standard.

We know its only been opened for a few weeks, but it fully deserves to be a great success.

Thank you, we'll be back.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank S342EMianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ivy Inn also viewed

 
Bromham, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Ivy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing