We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/10/21
Official Site
US$114
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.comUS$159
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
302
9
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
302
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spencer suite breakfast was delicious inn keepers b and b entire house is beautiful woodwork off street parking victorian mansion large porch presque isle private bath lovely home terrific hosts presidential suite located within walking distance modern amenities gannon university
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The home is beautiful, the bed was comfortable, We've stayed at many B&B's in the USA as well as in Europe. This one, I don't want to say felt uncomfortable, but the owners are a little more tightly wound than your typical B&B owner. In the email regarding check-in, it asks - reasonably for certain - that if you are not vaccinated, to wear a mask; they indicate they will wear one if asked. So, upon our arrival, thinking it would put them at ease, I told them we were vaccinated. The reply was "Well, obviously, or you'd be wearing a mask.". I expected more of an "I appreciate you letting me know.". When we were shown our room, we were told not to use the pillows with the pillow shams; well then, take them out of the rooms. The internet is sporadic, at best & it is not a short walk to restaurants. There is one about a mile away, the others all require a vehicle. The breakfast was o.k. The owners seemed to know little of the area, when we asked some questions, the reply was "We aren't from here originally so don't know.". Another couple staying here also had concerns about the hosts' attitude. Beautiful building, seemingly disinterested owners.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Spencer House Bed and Breakfast was excellent. A beautiful, historic home which is both comfortable and exquisitely furnished. We loved the Captains Quarters on the third floor-- spacious and comfortable, with everything you need. The breakfasts were delicious! Steve and Lisa are wonderful hosts. We would definitely return for future trips to Erie!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank REfromPGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment you walk into the Spencer House Bed & Breakfast, you will feel like you're walking into a peaceful and welcoming environment. Steven and Lisa welcomed us with open arms, a gorgeous environment, and a fabulous breakfast!! They thought of everything to make us feel welcome. There were little chocolates in a bowl on our dresser, a water cooler with cold and hot water for the coffee and tea they provided in our room, they had disposable tableware on the dresser in case we came back with a late night snack, they had maps and other information on the local sites. Steven even helped us find the best place to view the sunset on Presque Isle (although the weather didn't cooperate with providing us with a sunset). The breakfast the next morning was AMAZING!! Steven and Lisa love to cook, and it showed! We thoroughly enjoyed meeting Steven and Lisa, hearing about the history of their beautiful B & B, and getting spoiled by them!! Thank you so very much for making us feel so special, Steven and Lisa!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 423carolynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely loved our stay. I have a food allergy (celiac, no gluten) and the innkeepers were so kind and made me the BEST gluten free breakfasts. French toast! Pancakes! The house was immaculate and so beautiful. Easy parking in the back and loved the museum that was just a block away walking. Great location.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTravel821728
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2021 via mobile

The house is absolutely stunning. The woodwork, the decor...just perfect!
Steve and Lisa are lovely, gracious hosts. The breakfast were huge and delicious.
The bed was incredible. I slept extremely well.
I can't say anything negative about our stay, except that it was too short.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank E4208PQdavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews