We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes for a Good Evening”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cook Forest Sawmill Center for the Arts
Ranked #5 of 7 things to do in Cooksburg
Attraction details
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Enjoyed "Arlene's Beauty World" last night. Performances are by local community theater groups. The detective and police office did an especially good job in this one. In this neck of the woods this is a good bet for a entertaining in the middle of the forest. Although the theater is about 30 years old, it's made to look like an historic old building. Newer comfortable seating since the last time we were there. There's no heating or air-conditioning, so plan accordingly. Last night, was an especially cool evening for August, but everyone seemed comfortable although a number of people bought $20 blankets at the door. Good marketing on the theater's part. We asked for aisle seats, and we ended up sitting next to a wall. The only disappointment of the night. Some reviewers mentioned the restaurants in the area. We like Kim's Kruise-In near Brookville or the Iron Mountain Grille closer to the theater.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank bilodeau2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Summer stock theater venue plus art/gift shop. Very pleasant afternoon and evening the gallery was nice with several items worth purchasing. The show was as expected. Well done. it's not Broadway come with appropriate expectations for summer stock theater in the middle of nowhere and you probably will not be disappointed. Set your expectations too high and you might be. It was a really good way to spend a few hours while vacationing in the area. We would visit again.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2015

If you're in the area, you HAVE to check out all the crafts, and then stick around for the play in the evening. Both are SUPER places to be. Take a picnic dinner, or go to one of the local restaurants, but be sure to be back in time for the Play. The area performers are the BEST, and I've never seen a bad performance yet, and I've been to a LOT. During intermission, or before the performance, check out local talents & crafters in the center. I did ALL my Christmas shopping there one year, and have never regretted it. Check it out.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Every show we have seen here has been good. "A Year with Frog and Toad" was excellent. Hats off to the Clarion University players. Sometimes its very hot though depending on the weather.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank DuBoisMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014

So you are in Clarion County Pennsylvania, it is after 5pm , so all the sidewalks have been rolled up, and you are wondering what to do with your evening?
Hey ! Check and see if there is a play going on at a place called "The Sawmill Theater" in Cook Forest State Park :)

If it is your lucky evening....there is a play being put on by one of the local groups, such as the Clarion Community Theater.
Head on up for a great evening of entertainment. Play does not matter much.(especially if M.Stahlan is in cast)..it will be fun anyway!
Theater is a unique wooden structure in which audience sits in comfortable standard theater seats that are arranged in 197 degree circular tiers overlooking the "stage".
Have fun and don't forget there are some nice "uniquely quaint" restaurants up there around "the forest" :)

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank 335B_a_r_r_y1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook Forest Sawmill Center for the Arts also viewed

 

Been to Cook Forest Sawmill Center for the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing