We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great sand and walking-the-beach place!

We went to Seal Beach specifically to look for sea critters in the tide pools, and found a few... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
LaurieB980
,
Portland, Oregon
Beautiful!

Lovely views of sand, rocks, water, and sky – a photographer’s dream. We love the Oregon coast... read more

Reviewed 30 October 2018
RetiredTravelerTN
,
Nashville, Tennessee
Read all 124 reviews
  
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
86
33
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
33
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tide pools low tide oregon coast sea creatures great beach sea stacks bring binoculars favorite beach beautiful rock picnic benches large rocks some great photos star fish crashing waves parking lot is parking area off the highway
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Our family has been to many tide pools. Seal Rock had two outstanding features. First, the light in morning strikes the pools beautifully for photography. The setting is lovely and I got many wonderful photos. Second, they are very safe. An outer reef protects most of the pools from rogue waves, most of the area isn’t very slippery, and there are few drop offs. The creatures we found though were pretty ordinary. Crabs, anemones, sea stars, sculpins, barnacles, limpids...nothing out of the ordinary on our day.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank Nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

What a nice place. All kinds of nature and beautiful views. Volunteers to steer you in the right direction. We didn’t stay long but the tide pools and nature was amazing.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Anemones, mussels, starfish, seals, baby seagulls. So pretty. Windy! Easy to park, restrooms available.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank t3downey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Awesome beach. uS fish and wildlife volunteers were there too helping us find the lounging seals and teaching about the birds. Great stop as you drive along the coast.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Seal Rock State park is a beautiful place along the coast highway that offers great views of the ocean and surf. The basalt rock formations that are located here are a reminder of the once cataclysmic nature of the coast line. Although there may be some beach access, the trail that once existed to the beach from the parking lot has been closed due to erosion. That said, it's still a great place for a picnic in the trees and the opportunity to listen to the surf's roar.

Date of experience: February 2018
4  Thank D1278AGdaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews