We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveler rating
490
20
8
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
490
20
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat house fire pit hocking hills hot tub whispering pines waters edge kitchen appliances everyday life our honeymoon gas grill thought of everything luxury cabin relaxing weekend hiking trails long weekend beautiful property comfy bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2021

This was a perfect getaway for the two of us. The Observatory had everything we might want, and the pre-arrival instructions were clear enough that we brought all the food we might need. Instructions we might need were unobtrusive, and right where we needed them to be. No frustrations at all. We were able to walk the grounds, and the literature is accurate. We even found a small grotto waterfall that we guessed was for wedding pictures.

We were very fortunate in the weather, but the sky was overcast enough that the telescope didn't get used. Maybe next time. Enjoying the hot tub in the evening was a highlight.

The Hocking Hills attractions are about 20 minutes away.

Room tip: For two, go Observatory.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RichGTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raya Ward, General Manager at Cherry Ridge Retreat - Hocking Hills Luxury Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We're so thrilled that you found the Observatory to be the perfect getaway for two! We strive to provide our guests with everything they need for their stay with no extra hassle or frustration, so I'm thrilled to hear that we managed to hit that mark! I'm also so happy that you were able to explore property during your stay, and you found our own little on-property waterfall, how magical!
Thank you again for your 5 star review, we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Warm Regards,
Raya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2021 via mobile

Our fifth stay at Cherry Ridge Retreat. We stayed at the Boat House cabin for the first time.
Everything was perfect!! The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome.

Quiet, peaceful and relaxing. The cabins are very neat, clean, and beautiful!

Cherry Ridge Retreat is also in a nice location to visit the surrounding caves.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank BoardingPass578022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raya Ward, General Manager at Cherry Ridge Retreat - Hocking Hills Luxury Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Thank you for your 5 star review! We're so thrilled to have welcomed you back for your 5th stay so far! It means so much to see our guests return year after year, and I'm glad that the Boat House was able to impress!
Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay with us, we can't wait to welcome you back for trip #6!
Warm Regards,
Raya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2021

Very nice place to stay in Hocking Hills. There are multiple cabins on the main property, and the location is beautiful. I went with my kids for the seclusion and the stocked fishing ponds. My kids loved the fishing ponds. The bluegill were almost tame and we did catch and release. We caught a couple bass, but mostly bluegill. We stayed at the Boathouse. The cabin is cute, is right next to the pond, and has a hot tub and sauna. We had a few issues though: The water pressure on the shower was terrible it was slightly higher than a dribble! One day, workmen came for 3 1/2 hours on the house right next to ours and were hammering on the roof. It was loud. That got pretty annoying especially since we came for a nice peaceful time in the woods. It was a new construction project, not a repair. Also, as is common with rental properties in this area, they nickel and dime you. They try to charge you extra for things that I think should be included, such as a small amount of firewood. That seems strange at a place where the price for a room is pretty high to begin with. But we had a nice time in general.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brockg598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raya Ward, General Manager at Cherry Ridge Retreat - Hocking Hills Luxury Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2021

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We're thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at the Boat House! I'm so happy the kids enjoyed fishing in our stocked ponds and I hope you had a chance to enjoy the hot tub and private sauna!

We understand that peace and quiet is of most importance during your visit and we do apologize for the noise you experienced during one of the days of your stay.

As for our charges, we try to keep our costs low by allowing guests to opt into purchasing whichever add-ons they would like, rather than charging all of our guests for firewood they may not intend to use. That being said, when you book your stay you are able to select one of 3 separate rate plans, so you can book on a plan that does include firewood in the nightly rate.

Thank you again for your review and your feedback. I am happy that you were able to enjoy the seclusion and nature on our property, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Raya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2021 via mobile

The Lake House is spacious with rustic decor, a working fireplace, an outdoor jacuzzi overlooking a pond and many amenities. The surrounding property is lovely with rolling hills and farms. Close proximity (approx 20 mins) to state parks in Hocking Hills. The staff was accommodating to help address our needs and concerns. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MCS1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raya Ward, General Manager at Cherry Ridge Retreat - Hocking Hills Luxury Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Lake House! We're so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we got a chance to enjoy the fireplace and hot tub, and that you were able to explore the nearby State Park! It's great to have such awesome sites just a short drive away!
Thanks again for your 5 star review, we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Warm Regards,
Raya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

If your looking for an amazing cabin away from the outside world with every amenity you could want the observatory is an amazing choice. Every time we stay at Cherry Ridge Retreat we have had nothing but peace and tranquility.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank F1141SOerics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raya Ward, General Manager at Cherry Ridge Retreat - Hocking Hills Luxury Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We're so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Observatory! With a cold plunge, hot tub, telescope and so much privacy, it's hard to beat The Observatory! We're so thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon!
Warm Regards,
Raya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews