We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CadySanicky
Litchfield, Ohio

Relaxing & peaceful

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 10, 2017via mobile
My husband and I camped here for the first time this summer. The words we kept describing our visit with was peaceful and relaxing. We had a lake front site which we were absolutely in love with! It was simply breathtaking to wake up each morning with a beautiful sunrise, and it was awesome going to bed with the sound of the waves, simply perfect! We brought our bikes and enjoyed that everything was so close to the campground. The glacier grooves, downtown, etc. We had fun exploring the island and enjoyed the winery too! The campground restrooms and showers were very clean and the whole atmosphere was just so quiet, friendly, quaint, and super peaceful. It did get a bit windy at night being on the lake front, our tent made some noise but it didn't bother us much at all. We already have plans to come back next year!
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.5 km from Kelleys Island State Park Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bayshore Resort
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱14,848
  • Hotels.com
9.8 km from Kelleys Island State Park Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱11,463
  • Hotels.com
10.1 km from Kelleys Island State Park Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱12,037
  • Hotels.com
10.6 km from Kelleys Island State Park Campground
Free Wifi
Pool
₱9,882
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
13.3 km from Kelleys Island State Park Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱19,334
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
14.1 km from Kelleys Island State Park Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
All beds are twin beds, and no bedrooms have table lamps. Grown up humans' feet will hang over the edge of the beds. Couples can't sleep together.
₱17,542
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱17,542
  • Vio.com
16.1 km from Kelleys Island State Park Campground
Contact accommodation for availability.
19.5 km from Kelleys Island State Park Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
15.8 km from Kelleys Island State Park Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kelleys Island
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
11
4
5
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
11
4
5
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 22 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2017

My family has enjoyed camping on one of the lakefront camping sites for over 20 years and gladly paid the higher price for one of these sites. I have enjoyed the 1) sound of the waves 2) the view of the stars at night These are non-electric sites. Electric sites exist on the other side of the road. A 5th wheel trailer parked next to us on 6/16/17 (site 92) . They proceeded fire up a generator that ran essentially all the time.,,,So much for hearing the pure sound of waves. They also had 2 dogs. When the 2 dogs were not barking at other dogs outside, you could hear muffled barks while they were kept in the trailer. At night there was a big light on the trailer that shown on several camp sites including mine. So much for viewing stars. One evening one of the dogs (appeared to be a Pit bull) escaped from the trailer. The dog came at us but did not attack and appeared friendly. However, it did cause us a momentary fright. My wife went to the office and the person there said the people indicated when they checked it they were going to "rough it" -not going to use electric. The office worker acknowledged the people on the site lied at check in but was not able to do anything about the situation.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Tamir3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

This was our first visit to this campground. It is quiet and clean. Great home base to explore the island: the glacial grooves are literally just across the street, nice beach, walking/hiking trails to explore the island or to bike.

Room tip: Lakefront campsite are beautiful
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
2  Thank Flyerboy172
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Awesome campground right on the lake!
Very nice and clean shower houses.....only has two though for the whole campground.
Biking distance to downtown!
No wifi even though it says it has it at the camp office......never worked for us.
Be careful......my husbands phone alerted him that he was in Canada......
We enjoyed our stay!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

Tent camped here in site 92, right on the lake in August. The site is right by a nice, modern and clean shower/ restroom house. No glaring outside lights, but rather some subtle lighting that doesn’t interfere with trying to relax next to a campfire. Great view toward the north, and Pelee Island. On Friday night the park played two short movies on an outside screen. They even cam around and handed out popcorn to everyone which my kids loved. The vibe here is very family friendly, with the whole place being quiet through the night. There is a nice beach with a shallow swimming area and kayak rentals. There is a large picnic shelter house with 6 or 8 picnic tables overlooking the beach. The campground has ice and wood for sale from 8am to 9pm which is very convenient. The sites are relatively close together, but no more so than what you see at a lot of campgrounds. About a 50/50 mix of tents and rvs from what I saw. I have camped at 20+ campgrounds over 30 years and this place was in the top quarter.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank MattB123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

We visited the Kelleys island state park campground for the 3rd time. We really enjoy the trip. The campground was clean& well maintained. The fishing was good. We did not see any raccoons this year which was great. The island is just so beautiful. Definitely plans to return next year.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank 950jong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews