We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Go for the glow worms

Having done a number of similar cave tours in the southwest of Western Australia I was intrigued... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Dingo_dude
,
Fremantle, Australia
via mobile
Cave and glowworm experience

Dave was a very knowledgeable guide and answered all questions. It was great to visit a wet cave... read more

Reviewed 1 April 2021
Kathy B
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 304 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Mole Creek
from US$114.41
More Info
from US$109.42
More Info
from US$78.90
More Info
from US$98.63
More Info
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
186
98
15
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
186
98
15
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worms mole ticket office ranger station we arrived early take pictures beautiful formations king solomon great cathedral great tour degrees inside rainy day informative guide his knowledge an amazing experience well worth the visit minute tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2021 via mobile

Don’t bother with the drive to get there. Very disappointed. Visit the caves at Gunns Plains instead it is well worth the tour.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2021

Dave was a very knowledgeable guide and answered all questions. It was great to visit a wet cave, the reflections from the water were amazing. There were awesome formations and it was great to see and learn about the glow worms. Thanks for a great tour. I tried to book into the King Soloman caves but it wasn't available in the morning - I will definitely do this cave when I am next in the area. I hope that for both the tourists and the caves that the restricted numbers are lifted soon as so many people are missing out on this amazing cave and they need the funds to help with maintenance.
Don't forget to pre book

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2021 via mobile

Sue was a fantastic guide for our tour, her knowledge was invaluable. We had an amazing experience in the cave, the glow worms were awesome and we even got to see a Tasmanian Cave Spider! This tour is an absolute must.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Renee030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2021 via mobile

Went on the Great Cathedral and Glow worms tour. Definitely worth the $19pp - which likely goes towards the upkeep of the cave access and preservation efforts.

Our guide was delightful, warm and welcoming, and most importantly, knowledgeable about the geology and biology in and around the cave. The tour felt safe and well organised. The cave itself is obviously a wonder to behold, especially the cathedral, as well as the glow worms.

The fern glade walk was beautiful. It was a 10 minute semi-steep walk through the undergrowth of the forest from the visitor centre to the Marakoopa Cave entrance. Alternatively, you can just drive from the visitor centre to the cave entrance carpark.

At this current time, pre-booking of the tour was essential due to COVID restrictions on numbers per tour. We didn’t know this so turned up on the day only to find almost all the Marakoopa and King Solomon Cave tours were fully booked except for one later in the day, which we were blessed to get into.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank cooldog777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 February 2021

There is something in the human psyche that impels us to explore places… Caves are no exception. Even with the predicted 9 degrees that will greet you… which incidentally I found comfortable. It never hurts that you are on an adventure ducking, weaving and climbing stairs.  

I arrived at the office earlier in the day to find that I should have booked to go to these caves. The lady in the office was incredible and suggested I book for the 2pm tour- I agreed because I knew there was a hike nearby that I wanted to do.  

Returning at 13:45 I used the toilet facilities and headed to the second carpark… eager to see what awaited. As always, I got chatting to the others waiting to do the tour before our guide, Jarrett arrived to take us on our magic carpet ride. Jarrett was charming, he was clearly passionate about the adventure he is about to take you on.  

So we toured and learned about the chambers, crystals, coluaqamns, stalactites & ‘mites’, environmental concerns. Jarrett met the challenge of our questions- he left us in the dark ( that makes you tingle) and … we were really fortunate… a gent bought his didgeridoo along to play for us… Jarrett showed us yet another skill and played his harmonica.  

Jarret left the pièce de résistance until last returning us to a chamber to teach us about the romance of glow worms. These creatures produce long, sticky threads to catch passing invertebrates- which sounds like some weird plot for a porn movie. Their series of mucus threads capture their food which allows them to feast.  

The life-cycle of this creature is interesting… in the larvae stage they are the size of a small fly and this stage lasts up to a year. Later as adults they do not have working mouths- so they are no longer able to feed. The females usually last for two days (probably because females clearly need to talk more – Kidding!!) and the male of the species can last up to five.  

That’s quite sexy really… a man who can’t talk. Mmm mmm. But let’s talk about sex for a moment. The female uses her glowing organs to attract a male, after reproducing she dies shortly after. The hatchlings remain larvae for a few seasons.  

… anyway, if you want to learn about these fascinating creatures- head to the caves, do a tour, ask questions…but whatever you do… put this on your list as a “Must Do” experience.

Date of experience: February 2021
2  Thank Crystalline4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews