We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Mountain biking magic

Super range of mountain bike trails with something for the whole family. The trails are very well... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
xartec
,
Castlemaine, Australia
Go hard

Awesome for experienced riders and beginners alike. Something for every level. The tunnel is a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Sue P
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Read all 86 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Derby
from US$112.43
More Info
from US$289.49
More Info
from US$77.54
More Info
from US$107.53
More Info
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
78
6
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
78
6
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain bike trails world class great trails something for everyone blue tier great mix rock features awesome place friendly town green runs shuttle companies close to town single track the main street there are so many days riding the pub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2021 via mobile

A true small town, and a hive of activity with mountain bikes everywhere. Easy to walk or ride around town and the main street. Would recommend bringing food supplies, esp snacks for the trail. Had not been on a mountain bike for a while but loved getting back in the saddle. The green runs had a great mix of challenges, climbs and fun descents, make sure you go through the derby tunnel. Suitable for kids with experience on the track, my 4yo managed the pump track and the chang gang track with ease. Would highly recommend shuttles to get more variety in your day and extend the legs to allow multiple days on the bike. Really great family friendly holiday, will go back.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Joelie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

The Blue Derby network of mountain bike trails is one of the absolute best I have ever come across, it’s something for everybody, including beginners and intermediate and advanced. Plan ahead, book your higher bicycle, and book your shuttles in advance as they can fill up in the busy season. You can ride to the top, or shuttles are generally $10 per ride, or $55 for a full day of unlimited shuttles.
Long rides like the classic Blue Tier ride (42km) are amazing but may be closed after wet weather.
Absolutely world-class trails, there’s a reason the Enduro World Champs are held here!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank drwwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 December 2020

We got Loz from RIDEO to take our two boys, novice 14 and 12yo riders, on a 3hr guided session. She was fantastic! The boys learnt heaps and had a blast. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank Danni La F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 November 2020 via mobile

This is unlike any where else in Australia..
I have ridden a lot of trails from Queensland to Tasmania..
There are other trails that are equivalent in fun and technical value.. But there is no where else in Australia where the whole town revolves around MTB riding...
The cafes pubs and shops are all there for the riders. Everyone is super friendly.. Our group of 12 used Vertigo Mtb and they are amazing but everyone is there to help you..
No matter what level you are there is something there for you
Must do if you are into Mtbs on any level..
Plenty of hire bikes throughout the town for all levels.
We go once a year now

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2020

What an experience!

My mates and I spend 4 days in Derby before the iso shutdown. It was our second visit and damn, it gets better everytime.

This was the first time we stayed at Avalone Blue @ Derby and was a top spot. Crawling distance from the pub. That was lucky! Great outside deck, fire pit out the front, hot showers and a great bike storage and workshop.

We used MADMTB this time for our shuttles and one of the boys hired a ebike from them on the last day, because he was cooked. We were recommended MAD by mates and their reviews said check them out. We were very happy with the package they put together for us with shuttles to the Bay of Fires (top 13km on repeat is insane). Blue the good old Blue Tier . Atlas combo with a few ales at the Weldborough pub.

The rest of the time was spent smashing Black Stump shuttles and damn, they were epic. A massive shout out to Richard at MADMTB. One of the boys hurt himself a bit and he was up sorting it out in no time. Epic stuff, although his choice in music is......interesting!

Anyway, the trails are awesome. If you have never been to Derby, do yourself a favour. St Helens trails look great too. Richard said to check out Gravity Isle shuttles over there, so next year, its on. We'll be back for 5 days next year. 3 in Derby and 2 in St Helens.

Derby is certainly changing. Heaps more beginner and family friendly trails, which is awesome. Me and the boys can't wait.

MAD as!

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank MTBMADMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews