We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveler rating
467
125
31
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
467
125
31
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pump house top floor honesty bar shore house communal dining middle floor other guests shared table lake st clair stocked larder hot bread interesting people golf buggy pate unique experience the snow capped mountains two nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2021

We booked Pumphouse Point last year in May when we were locked down at home. Our daughter together with her husband and another couple had been there in January of last year and highly recommended it to us.
We arrived for the 2 night stay and were warmly welcomed by the staff. They are a great bunch and clearly love working at the Pumphouse. We were in Room 18 which is the large corner room in the Shorehouse. We were so glad we booked that room as the weather was less than kind whilst we were there and it was great to know that we didn't have to return to the Pumphouse after breakfast and dinner in the pouring rain each time.
The first night we had a delicous meal. It was the Pork night and we enjoyed the lovely beetroot entree followed by the roast pork as well as the delicious peach entree.
The next morning we really enjoyed the buffet breakfast, there was everything that we needed for a day in the wilderness. Our lunch was in our room and it was an incredible array of interesting food. Together with the hot loaf that was delivered to us at the time we specified, it made for a wonderful repast.
The only downside was our dinner on the second night. Unfortunately, it was Beef night and right from the start it was a let down. The entree was just two small pieces of toast with cherry tomatoes and mozarella cheese. The main course was beef cheeks which is not our favourite cut of meat, though they were tender and finally we had a chocolate cake with nuts for dessert. Unfortunately, that was just too heavy for us, so we left most of the dessert as did the rest of our table of six.
Other than that glitch with the food, we enjoyed ourselves even though we had wet, very cold and windy weather. We made it to The Wall, which is a must for any visitor to that part of Tasmania. It is an incredible work of art by one man.
We loved our bed which was so comfortable and we enjoyed the architecture of the bathroom with its industrial taps.
We were happy with just spending two nights at the Pumphouse. We were able to experience a very unique stay at one of nature's most remote places in Australia. Due to the weather we spent the afternoon of our free day sitting by the fire reading which was very relaxing but we would have loved to have been able to do some of the walks on offer.

Room tip: Our room number 18, had a wonderful view of the pumphouse and the lake.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiegal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumphouse Team, General Manager at Pumphouse Point, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2021

Hi Aussiegal15,

Thanks so much for your kind review and we're glad you had a great time at Pumphouse despite the cold and windy weather on this occasion!

We're sorry you found the second dinner too rich - we've amended this dish since, so thanks for letting us know.

We do hope you can return one day in the sunshine to experience the great walks around here.

Warm regards,

The Pumphouse Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2021

We spent two nights at Pumphouse Point this month. I would like to give an honest review of our experience.
The location and surroundings are absolutely exquisite and certainly make up for some of the other aspects which are lacking.....more on that soon.
There are fabulous walks around the lake area, rowboats to take out on the lake, bicycles and e-bikes all included for guests.
We really enjoyed the breakfast & dinner communal dining experience - getting to know some of the other guests was an unexpected positive. The dinner menu is set. We do not eat meat, but no fresh fish is provided, so we were somewhat underwhelmed by the vegetarian option. The staff did try to sort this out for us on the second night and went out of their way to provide food that we would enjoy. We appreciated this but feel that there should be more attention to the menu for guests who do not eat meat/chicken.

Each guest is provided with a delicious larder of locally produced products in their rooms to be eaten for lunch and during the day before dinner. Delicious, fresh bread is baked all day and available on the hour should it be wanted. Everyone seemed to loved this offering.

The rooms are comfortable and a decent size but do not expect luxury. In this case less is more.......the best aspect of the room is the view over the lake. We stayed in the actual Pumphouse itself and the view from our room was magnificent.

The public areas include beautiful spots to relax in front of a fire-place and take in the view, sip some great wine, read a book or play a game.

The staff were helpful, friendly and provided good service.

All in all for us Pumphouse Point had the feel of a great lodge rather than a luxury hotel. We felt that it was overpriced in terms of the food provided and the simplicity of the accomodation.

I would love to return to the Pumphouse again as I felt that 2 nights was a little short and there was so much more to see in the area but the prices at the moment make an extended stay unlikely.

Room tip: View from the entry floor of the Pumphouse rooms was fabulous - felt like we were on a ship.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nomibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumphouse Team, General Manager at Pumphouse Point, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2021

Hi nomibal,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review on your experience at Pumphouse Point.

We're really glad you enjoyed this privileged location inside the National Park, and made the most of the walks and outdoor activities.

We're sorry you expected something more luxurious - we certainly don't claim to be anywhere near a luxury property, and we do make an effort to set realistic expectations on our website about what we offer. If there's something you think is misleading in the communications prior to your stay, we'd really appreicate you letting us know via email.

We've taken on board your feedback about the dining as a team and we are working on solutions in this area to ensure all guests leave satisfied with the communal dining experience. Thank you for letting us know your thoughts.

We thank you again for joining us in the wilderness and hope that we see you again one day.

Warm regards,

The Pumphouse Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2021 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for two nights and it was absolutely gorgeous from arrival to departure. The location is sublime and it m arrival the weather was perfect ! We had a spectacular view from our room in the shore building (my preferred location)
Bar has a selection of fabulous Tasmanian wines for purchase using an honesty system. Set menu Meals were delicious and well presented using local produce. Communal seating was a great way to meet other guests and swap experiences of Tasmania
Each room has a larder of local goodies to take on a picnic or have in the room. We chose to hike from echo point to visitor centre which was to take about 3 hours but took us 4.5hours. Sadly we didn’t see any wildlife.
The weather is changeable in Tassie so in a week we went from t shirts to snow so be prepared!
Pumphouse point was a very special location to go with a special person.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank judef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumphouse Team, General Manager at Pumphouse Point, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2021

Hi judef,

We're glad to hear you loved your time in the Shorehouse with us, and enjoyed our communal dining and lunch goodies! Thank you for leaving your kind review. It was great to have you stay and we hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Pumphouse Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2021 via mobile

We visited pumphouse twice during the winter months and will return again. Very relaxing environment with easy going staff. Recommend walking the Frankland beaches and if you are into fly fishing take your rod! We got to experience the delicious fire feast on the weekend and beautiful warm mulled wine before dinner.
Highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jeremysE7638ZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumphouse Team, Marketing at Pumphouse Point, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2021

Hi Jeremy,

Thanks so much for your kind words about Pumphouse. We're so pleased you enjoyed your second visit, made the most of experiencing the vast wilderness here. We hope to welcome you back again next time you're in Tassie.

Safe travels,
Pumphouse Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2021

We stayed for 3 nights at the retreat. The rate is 6 star plus.
However, we feel we were ripped off.

The worst part is meal.
2 meals included daily but we had to be at the dining room at 18:30 sharp and share with other 4 gusts. 40 guests were packed in the small area. No wine is available by glass, guests have to purchase bottles. (we did not have to purchase since the rate included drinks, but other guests have to)
Dining area is very casual, very noisy, and no menu options are given.
Meal quality is very standard nothing special. We felt as if we dined at a dormitory canteen.
We expected more upmarket ambience and flexibility for the rate which we were charged.

We requested to dine in the room for the last night, but was rejected without any consideration. The lady said they would not provide any flexibility to guests.
This arrangement is purely for cost cutting and not for the sake of guests.
We dined at Lake St Clair Lodge nearby which is a 3 star hotel. instead of the hotel. The restaurant is far better than the pumphouse.

The reception did not answer our calls and never called us back.
The reception hours are limited.

If you would like to be ripped off, go for it.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Koalatraveler1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumphouse Team, Marketing at Pumphouse Point, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2021

Dear コアラ,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at Pumphouse Point. I and our entire team were very disappointed to learn that you were unhappy with your stay here – it’s certainly always our intention to provide exceptional value for our guests, so we’re very sorry you left feeling this way.

Our team are reviewing your comments to understand how you felt ‘packed in’ to the dining room, as the space was designed to cater for all in-house guests and includes an adjacent lounge area. The dining room is generous in space and exceeds all COVID distancing requirements, which as you would understand is a major departure from normal separation. As the dining room is not open for casual dining it never exceeds our maximum 38 guests at a time, the space is sufficient and legally able to be utilised by double this number. We will investigate further.

We do consider all requests carefully, however our current menu isn’t suitable for room service and we are not willing to compromise on the quality, temperature and presentation of our meals. To deliver to The Retreat – being secluded away from the main building – would compromise this. We’re sorry you didn’t consider the alternative options we offered you multiple times. We do have a continuous improvement ethos and our team has met to discuss ways we may improve this part of the experience, and it’s our intention to do so.

Our set-menu communal dining (we have never claimed to have a restaurant) is an important part of the experience at Pumphouse Point – it is, and always has been, a part of what so many find special and engaging about our wilderness retreat. We’re sorry it didn’t live up to your expectations. We offer all three melas a day, and the larder lunch is designed for you to be able to take into the wilderness at your leisure. We’re sorry that the stash of Tasmanian cheeses, charcuterie, chocolate, seafood, snacks and warm fresh bread in your room daily didn’t satisfy you as a meal for lunch.

As for our honest bar system, having wines by the bottle is in the interest of covid-safety. We do offer single-serve bottles of some wines, and allow guests to take their unfinished bottles back to their room or even back home with them. At bottleshop prices, having wine by the bottle is not something that’s been an issue with our guests before.

Our reception is open daily between 8am and 6pm. As mentioned, there are team members in the shorehouse that would have been happy to assist you up until 10pm, and we have an after-hours number available for emergency situations.

I am perplexed and sorry that you were not aware of our style and offerings as a Wilderness Retreat as we strive to communicate this to all of our guests in prior to and at arrival including on our website, reservations pages, booking confirmation emails, pre-arrival form, at check-in and via social media. We apologise, and given your expectations were not fulfilled we are working to determine how we could even better communicate this before arriving.

We are situated in Tasmania’s World Heritage Wilderness area, a national park, and have a commitment and philosophy of enabling guests to immerse in this. We provide a range of activity opportunities and I am pleased the team reported you did participate in some of those and enjoyed the experience especially our Retreat e-bikes.

We don’t claim to offer any of the things we weren’t able to provide to you, and are careful not to present as a ‘luxury’ property. We’re sorry again you didn’t find the value that we strive to offer as a boutique wilderness retreat which is connection with nature and sharing this with other travellers. We are mortified you felt ‘ripped off’, something we have never been accused of by over 100,000 previous guests.

We constantly benchmark and review against similar establishments around Australia in pricing, experience, activities, and food and beverage offerings. Given your remarks we have taken onboard your feedback seriously for further review.

Regards,
Simon Currant
Owner/Managing Director Pumphouse Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews