We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly place to stop for the night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coolabah Motel Walgett NSW
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Walgett
Reviewed January 15, 2017

We stayed overnight while driving from Brisbane to Adelaide with our two young kids. The staff were very friendly and helpful from the initial phone booking on. The family room was clean and provided all that we needed. The kids room was spacious with four single beds. The other room was limited in how the double bed and kitchen facilities could be fitted in so a bit squishy but fine for overnight. Appreciated the included wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 53 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2016

Not a lot of options , but motel room very clean, comfortable bed good pillows, partly updated unit, not much floor space but as just overnight ok.Price rates are high but I guess captured market. Breakfast hearty and generous.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed ok from outside observation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grandma2827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016

After a long day driving it was the perfect stop for the night. Reasonably priced and with secure parking, it was a great place to relax for the evening. As it turned out, over my 4 days of traveling across the country, it had the most comfortable bed on the whole trip. John the Manager was friendly. Not a lot of options for places to eat in Walgett though

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ozikiwi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 18 years ago and looked to book in to the same place again on this trip.
Booked through Wotif for a work trip. Booking was confirmed by Wotif on 18 th of the month and there was 3 available rooms at that time.
When I got here the property manager said he didn't have my booking but at the same time a NSW Government minister (my client!) arrived to check in to 3 rooms.
I reckon my booking was bumped to make way for the high profile group of 3.
Manager was rude and unapologetic.
Deeply disappointed.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
1  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coid1974, Owner at Coolabah Motel Walgett NSW, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2016

Hi Ben

I am sorry for the trouble you had when you booked on a 2nd party website for our motel.

Unfortunately we have no control on knowing when a booking comes through unless booked online and then we receive a notification for the reservation.

We have no idea when bookings are made if guests are high profile as you mentioned, we take all bookings made and we do not "bump" bookings for others.

We have looked into the bookings and all we received for that date was the 3 bookings mentioned, if there is only 3 room allotments to book then that would be the maximum bookings that could be made.

We have contacted the website accommodation host and there were only reservations made for the 3 rooms as mentioned.

I would highly suggest following this up through the booking agent you used to see why the booking wasn't sent to the motel, as we can't get that information only that there isn't or wasn't a reservation made.

It might also be a good idea even if booking online (as I do) to still contact the property to confirm reservation prior to travel.

Kind Regards

Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2016

This motel is very old and tired but is one of the better ones in Walgett. I thought the room rate of $102.00 was very pricey for what you get but I suppose they have a captured market with only a small number of motels in the town. Had dinner from the local chinese which was very ordinary. The room was clean but tired, bed was ok just, and the shower was alright. AC is an old rattler type and woke me up at 3.00am. The staff were very friendly, breakfast was ok but I just cannot get used to being shut in at 8.00pm so I won't be staying in Walgett again.

Room Tip: Keep driving past Walgett and stay in Bourke
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coid1974, Owner at Coolabah Motel Walgett NSW, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2016

Hi David

Please be aware that our secure gates on the property are easily accessed with keys for guests to come and go as they please.

We are continuing to upgrade rooms and always welcome feedback to be able to enhance our guests experience.

Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coolabah Motel Walgett NSW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolabah Motel Walgett NSW

Address: 95 Wee Waa St, Walgett, New South Wales 2832, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Walgett
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Walgett
Price Range: ₱4,487 - ₱4,956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolabah Motel Walgett NSW 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are minutes from the centre of town and our property is nestled in beautiful green gardens and surrounds, the CMW is an oasis surrounded by beautiful landscaping with outdoor swimming pool, bbq area and plenty of sun and shade in the seated areas around the property.Within a short distance of the CMW you’ll discover an abundant of entertainment such as golfing, lawn bowls, dams and rivers for fishingcrabbing, shops, sidewalk cafés, clubs and pubs.Whether you are here for business or leisure, the CMW will exceed your expectations with warm hospitality and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Coolabah Motel Walgett NSW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing