We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country pub”
Review of The Stag Inn

The Stag Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Petworth
Price range: US$8 - US$34
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Stag Inn is a lovely, country pub set in the beautiful village of Balls Cross in Petworth. The menu changes on a weekly basis and all their products are sourced locally. With traditional log fire and award winning Badger ales - a warm welcome and great food is assured.
Reviewed 1 November 2020

It was so nice to find this lovely country pub for lunch recently. It makes a nice change to visit a real pub instead of a gastropub. This place has a real country pub atmosphere, when we’re leaving there were a couple of riders sitting outside with their horses! The food was good and the staff were lovely and friendly.

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank Life_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

What a lovely friendly pub! We arranged to meet some friends for a Friday night meal and the service and food was great. Can thoroughly recommend. House red was very good too!

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank 477SallyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2020

Half our party were very late as the babies were still sleeping. The staff kept our tables for a whole hour and accommodated a late order when they arrived. The food was excellent too. All in all a very positive experience.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jano702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acwoking, Owner at The Stag Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thank you, Jan and we appreciate that you kept us in the loop. I hope we can welcome you back on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2020 via mobile

Absolutely amazing food. Brilliant service. Cosy pub. Highly recommend. Lovely setting. Walked here for a fab lunch

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank N1087RVs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 September 2020

Had a very nice midweek lunch at this country pub with two family friends. We were taking advantage of the "eat out to help out" government scheme but even so there was a good choice of food and nice selection of real ales. The Covid restrictions in force at the time were strictly adhered to. The food was very good with decent portions so much so that only one of us had room for a pudding! The staff were very helpful and friendly and overall it was a very enjoyable lunch in very relaxed surroundings. The Stag is nice rural Sussex pub owned by Hall and Woodhouse and seems to be well run and popular. I would certainly recommend it and we shall certainly visit it again.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Muso30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stag Inn also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Stag Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.